Provence
Français / English

Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Pottery and Côte d'Azur

Vallauris Golfe-JuanVallauris Golfe-Juan is a name that combines the small town of Vallauris and the seaside resort of Golfe-Juan, who did not rank of common but gives Vallauris its access to the sea The name Vallauris Golfe-Juan is not official, but it is increasingly used, including by the municipality and its inhabitants.

The two cities have a distinctive past Vallauris has grown since the sixteenth century, thanks to its excellent pottery and its ceramics, a craft that even today makes his pride, while Golfe-Juan is a city essentially resort, known worldwide by its tourism, its many beaches and marinas.

Vallauris, in part thanks to Picasso who reside from 1948 to 1955, will attract more and more potters, painters or sculptors, spurred by the breath art that captures the city. And so a utilitarian pottery on rise in artistic pottery, ceramics known, which is always the glory of the city. Your walks in Vallauris you will find many shops and galleries, and even you can visit the castle-museum, the National Museum Picasso and contemporary art museum, which hosts the biennial International Ceramics Art.

Céramique de VallaurisBut Vallauris is also an incomparable view of the Gulf Juan, the Lerins Islands or Esterel. The beaches of Golfe-Juan are a few kilometres from those of Cannes or Antibes, and therefore enjoy the same sun generous, even prestigious. Golfe-Juan offers of course all water activities possible: sailing, scuba diving, water skiing, boat rentals...

The excursions are essentially the departure of the old port, a port that is also home to traditional fishing boats. The second port, the port Camille Rayon, youngest of the marinas on the French Riviera (founded in 1989), holds the label "Blue Flag of Europe" since 1996. It is located opposite the Lerins Islands and is hosted by the Cap d'Antibes. It is one of the largest ports in the Mediterranean basin and is located 24 kilometers from Nice airport.

It should be noted that one uses the definite article only to discuss the Gulf itself: the Gulf Juan, and for the city that it is necessary to use the hyphen and put the word Gulf capitalize. But this rule seems less and less respected ...

Pictures of Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Vallauris - place Villas à Golfe-Juan Boutique de Jean Marais

Around Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Cannes - Antibes - Iles de Lérins - Grasse - Nice - Mandelieu - Menton - Côte d'Azur - Saint Raphaël - Fréjus - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Céramique et Côte d'Azur

Vallauris Golfe-JuanVallauris Golfe-Juan est un nom qui réunit la petite ville de Vallauris et la station balnéaire de Golfe-Juan, qui n'a pas rang de commune, mais donne à Vallauris son accès à la mer. Le nom Vallauris Golfe-Juan n'est donc pas officiel, mais il est de plus en plus employé, y compris par la municipalité et les habitants.

Les deux cités ont un passé bien distinct puisque Vallauris s'est développée au XVIe siècle grâce à l'excellence de ses poteries et de ses céramiques, un artisanat qui de nos jours encore fait sa fierté, alors que Golfe-Juan est une cité essentiellement balnéaire, mondialement connue par son tourisme, ses nombreuses plages et ses ports de plaisance.

Vallauris, en partie grâce à Picasso qui y résidera de 1948 à 1955, attirera de plus en plus de céramistes, peintres ou sculpteurs, stimulés par le souffle artistique qui saisit la ville. Et c'est ainsi que d'une poterie utilitaire on passera à une poterie artistique, une céramique réputée, qui fait toujours la gloire de la ville. Vos promenades dans Vallauris vous permettront de découvrir de nombreuses boutiques et galeries, et même vous pourrez visiter le Château-musée, le musée national Picasso et musée d'art contemporain, qui accueille la biennale internationale de Céramique d'Art.

Céramique de VallaurisMais Vallauris c'est aussi une vue incomparable sur le golfe Juan, les Iles de Lérins ou l'Esterel. Les plages de Golfe-Juan sont à quelques kilomètres de celles de Cannes ou Antibes, et profitent donc du même soleil généreux, du même décor prestigieux. Golfe-Juan vous propose bien sûr toutes les activités nautiques possibles : voile, plongée sous-marine, ski nautique, location de bateaux, excursions en mer...

Les excursions se font essentiellement au départ du vieux port, un port traditionnel qui accueille également les bateaux de pêche. Le second port, le port Camille Rayon, plus jeune des ports de plaisance de la Côte d'Azur (crée en 1989), est détenteur du label "Pavillon Bleu d'Europe" depuis 1996. Il se situe face aux îles Lérins et est abrité par le cap d'Antibes. C'est un des plus grands ports du bassin méditerranéen et il se situe à 24 kilomètres de l'aéroport de Nice.

Il faut remarquer que l'on utilise l'article défini uniquement pour parler du golfe proprement dit : le golfe Juan ; et que pour la localité il est nécessaire d'employer le trait d'union et de mettre au mot Golfe la majuscule. Mais cette règle semble de moins en moins respectée...

Photographies de Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Vallauris - place Villas à Golfe-Juan Boutique de Jean Marais

Autour de Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Cannes - Antibes - Iles de Lérins - Grasse - Nice - Mandelieu - Menton - Côte d'Azur - Saint Raphaël - Fréjus - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Autres villes de Provence