Provence

Mairie Vaison : 04 90 36 50 00

Office tourisme : 04 90 36 02 11

Poste : 04 90 36 54 60

Français / English

Vaison la Romaine

A medieval town and an archaeological site

Vaison la RomaineVaison-la-Romaine is a joint French, located in the Vaucluse department and the region Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur. It is located in the northern part of the department, south of the Enclave des Papes (nickname Township Valréas that, although the Vaucluse, is entirely landlocked in the department of Drôme).

Vaison la Romaine is about 27 km from Orange, 50 km from Avignon, 10 km from the Dentelles de Montmirail and 10 km from the foot of Mont Ventoux.

Vaison-la-Romaine is a medieval city classified as "City of art and history." It is also a city where an archaeological Roman city was discovered in its quasi-totality. It includes the House of Messii, the Portico of Pompey, the House report (insula), thermal baths and Roman theatre.

Vaison la Romaine et l'OuvèzeTourism, through this archaeological site, is an important part of the activity of Vaison-la-Romaine. However, we should not reduce the heritage of the small town that was buried because the aspect of the medieval old town and its Roman bridge which spans the Ouvèze attract too many visitors.

Also on the cultural level, it should be noted Movement International Choral "A happy heart", which organizes in Vaison la Romaine, since 1953, the international Choralies every three years. The spectacle of three thousand people of all countries met in a Roman amphitheatre, who sing in four-voice polyphony without even knowing deserves to be seen and heard. The event enabled the town of Vaison-la-Romaine to be awarded the label choir European City by the European Community in 1995.

Enjoying a very sunny Mediterranean climate, marked by the enthusiasm of invigorating mistral, Vaison-la-Romaine and its territory, are a prime area for lovers of sports and relaxation. The proximity of Mont Ventoux, Dentelles de Montmirail, and the hills and forests of the country offer a wide range of circuits for hikers, cyclists, horseback riders, rock climbers and supporters of paragliding. The Ventoux with his station du Mont-Serein can enjoy winter sports in a family setting.

Surrounded by seven hills (like Rome), Vaison-la-Romaine is bisected by the waters of the Ouvèze. Affluent Rhone long by 85 km, the river today, most often, low-speed and is not navigable. It would otherwise seem to Roman times, as inscriptions reported Corporations boatmen. But Ouvèze is capable of terrible anger. The catastrophic flooding of 22 September 1992 and the floods it has caused have tragically reminded.

Pictures of Vaison la Romaine

Vaison la Romaine Haute Ville de Vaison Site archéologique Lieu des fouilles à Vaison la Romaine Château des Comtes de Toulouse Au bord de l'Ouvèze Atrium Domus Vestiges romains

Around Vaison la Romaine

Dentelles de Montmirail - Orange - Avignon - Carpentras

Other cities in Provence

Provence

Mairie Vaison : 04 90 36 50 00

Office tourisme : 04 90 36 02 11

Poste : 04 90 36 54 60

Français / English

Vaison la Romaine

Une ville médiévale et un site archéologique

Vaison la RomaineVaison-la-Romaine est une commune française, située dans le département de Vaucluse et la région Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur. Elle se trouve dans la partie nord du département, au sud de l'Enclave des Papes (surnom du canton de Valréas qui, bien qu'appartenant au Vaucluse, est entièrement enclavé dans le département de la Drôme).

Vaison la Romaine est à environ 27 km d'Orange, 50 km d'Avignon, 10 km des Dentelles de Montmirail et 10 km du pied du mont Ventoux.

Vaison-la-Romaine est une cité médiévale classée "Ville d'art et d'histoire". C'est aussi une ville archéologique où une cité romaine a été découverte dans sa quasi totalité. Elle comprend la Maison des Messii, le Portique de Pompée, la Maison de rapport (insula), des thermes et le théâtre romain.

Vaison la Romaine et l'OuvèzeLe tourisme, grâce à ce site archéologique, est une part importante de l'activité de Vaison-la-Romaine. Cependant, il ne faut pas réduire le patrimoine de la petite ville à ce qui était enfoui car l'aspect médiéval du vieux village et son pont romain qui enjambe l'Ouvèze attirent eux aussi beaucoup de visiteurs.

Toujours sur le plan culturel, il faut signaler le Mouvement Choral International "A cœur joie", qui organise dans Vaison la Romaine, depuis 1953, les Choralies internationales tous les trois ans. Le spectacle de trois mille personnes de tous pays réunies dans un amphithéâtre romain, qui chantent en polyphonie à quatre voix sans même se connaître mérite d'être vu et entendu. Cette manifestation a permis à la ville de Vaison-la-Romaine de se voir attribuer le label de Cité chorale européenne par la Communauté européenne en 1995.

Bénéficiant d’un climat méditerranéen très ensoleillé, marqué par les ardeurs vivifiantes du mistral, Vaison-la-Romaine et son territoire, constituent un terrain privilégié pour les amateurs d’activités sportives et de détente. La proximité du Mont-Ventoux, des Dentelles de Montmirail, ainsi que les collines et forêts du Pays offrent un large éventail de circuits pour les randonneurs, cyclotouristes, cavaliers, grimpeurs et adeptes de parapente. Le Ventoux avec sa station du Mont-Serein permet de profiter des sports d’hiver dans un cadre familial.

Entourée de sept collines (comme Rome), Vaison-la-Romaine est traversée par les eaux de l’Ouvèze. Affluent du Rhône, longue de 85 km, la rivière a aujourd’hui, le plus souvent, un faible débit et n’est pas navigable. Il en allait autrement semble-t-il à l’époque romaine, puisque des inscriptions signalent des corporations de bateliers. Mais l’Ouvèze est capable de colères terribles. La crue catastrophique du 22 septembre 1992 et les inondations qu’elle a engendrées l’ont tragiquement rappelé.

Photographies de Vaison la Romaine

Vaison la Romaine Haute Ville de Vaison Site archéologique Lieu des fouilles à Vaison la Romaine Château des Comtes de Toulouse Au bord de l'Ouvèze Atrium Domus Vestiges romains

Autour de Vaison la Romaine

Dentelles de Montmirail - Orange - Avignon - Carpentras

Autres villes de Provence