Provence
Français / English

Six Fours les Plages

A seaside resort on the French Riviera near Toulon

Six Fours les PlagesSix Fours les Plages, between Sanary-sur-Mer and Toulon, a town east of the French Riviera, which brings together many strengths. Its jagged coast, the clear waters, you allow all nautical pleasures of surfing the kite-surfing, via sailing or scuba diving. It is a preferred destination for tourists, with all around the city countless opportunities for walks on the seafront, or hiking in the hills of Provence !

Overlooking the town, you notice immediately Fort Six Fours which is used as a military centre listening to the Mediterranean area. Beside him, the Saint-Pierre date of the eleventh century.
Sicié Cape, west of which there are the archipelago Embiez and the fishing village of Brusc, is a breakthrough in the sea known for its wild and its marine environment. On the top is built the chapel of Our Lady of May, or Guard, which is home to many ex-voto.

Batterie du Cap NègreBuilt on a rocky peak that juts into the sea, Battery of Cap Negre is a military structure which houses a center dedicated to the maritime industry and the local military past of this ancient fortification. Some kiosks provide many insights into the history of the Battery, defending the coast, sailing in the Mediterranean and the French navy.

To the south of the town of Six Fours, Le Brusc is a hamlet of fishermen and a famous summer resort. The Brusc is separated from the open sea by the lagoon of Brusc and Embiez archipelago.

The island of Embiez belongs to the heirs of Paul Ricard since 1958 and is at a distance of 1km of Six-Fours-les-Plages. The Port-Saint-Pierre is easily reachable from Brusc, patrol boats and ferry-boat, or wading since the peninsula Gaou. The island is home to the Fort Saint-Pierre and Paul Ricard Oceanographic Institute, which you can visit the aquarium. The Phare du Grand Rouveau, always in the archipelago Embiez, on the island of Grand Rouveau, is also part of the town of Six-Fours-les-Plages. He said the anchorage Brusc and entry ports of Bandol.

Pictures of Six Fours les Plages

Six Fours les Plages (Port de la Coudoulière) Cap Nègre Batterie du Cap Nègre Six Fours vu du Cap Nègre Le Brusc Six Fours et Sanary sur Mer

Around Six Fours les Plages

Bandol - Sanary sur Mer - Toulon - Calanques - Marseille - Cassis - La Ciotat - Carqueiranne - Giens - Hyères - Porquerolles - Port-Cros - Ile du Levant - Bormes les Mimosas - Le Lavandou - Cavalaire - Ramatuelle

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Six Fours les Plages

Une station balnéaire de la Côte d'Azur proche de Toulon

Six Fours les PlagesSix Fours les Plages, entre Sanary sur Mer et Toulon, est une commune de la Côte d'Azur qui réunit de très nombreux atouts. Sa côte dentelée, aux eaux claires, vous autorise tous les plaisirs nautiques, de la planche à voile au kite-surf, en passant par la voile ou la plongée sous-marine. C'est une destination privilégiée pour les touristes, avec tout autour de la ville d'innombrables possibilités de promenades en bord de mer, ou de randonnées dans les collines provençales !

Dominant la commune, vous remarquerez tout de suite le fort de Six Fours qui est utilisé comme centre militaire d'écoute pour la zone méditerranée. A ses côtés, la Collégiale Saint-Pierre date du XIe siècle.
Le Cap Sicié, à l'ouest duquel on trouve l'archipel des Embiez et le village de pêcheurs du Brusc, est une avancée dans la mer réputée pour son aspect sauvage et son environnement maritime. Sur son sommet est érigée la chapelle de Notre Dame du Mai, ou de la Garde, qui abrite de nombreux ex-voto.

Batterie du Cap NègreBâtie sur une pointe rocheuse qui s'avance en mer, la Batterie du Cap Nègre est un ouvrage militaire qui abrite un centre consacré à l’activité maritime locale et au passé militaire de cette ancienne fortification. Des bornes interactives apportent de nombreux éclairages sur l’histoire de la Batterie, la défense des côtes, la navigation en Méditerranée ainsi que sur la marine française.

Au sud de la commune de Six Fours, Le Brusc est un hameau de pêcheurs et une station estivale réputée. Le Brusc est séparé de la pleine mer par la lagune du Brusc et l'archipel des Embiez.

L'île des Embiez appartient aux héritiers de Paul Ricard depuis 1958 et est à une distance d'1km de Six-Fours-les-Plages. Le Port-Saint-Pierre est facilement atteignable du Brusc, en vedettes et ferry-boat, ou à gué depuis la presqu'île du Gaou. L'île abrite le fort Saint-Pierre et l'institut océanographique Paul Ricard, dont on peut visiter l'aquarium. Le Phare du Grand Rouveau, toujours dans l'archipel des Embiez, sur l'île du Grand Rouveau, fait lui aussi partie de la commune de Six-Fours-les-Plages. Il signale le mouillage du Brusc et l'entrée des ports de Bandol.

Photographies de Six Fours les Plages

Six Fours les Plages (Port de la Coudoulière) Cap Nègre Batterie du Cap Nègre Six Fours vu du Cap Nègre Le Brusc Six Fours et Sanary sur Mer

Autour de Six Fours les Plages

Bandol - Sanary sur Mer - Toulon - Calanques - Marseille - Cassis - La Ciotat - Carqueiranne - Giens - Hyères - Porquerolles - Port-Cros - Ile du Levant - Bormes les Mimosas - Le Lavandou - Cavalaire - Ramatuelle

Autres villes de Provence