Provence
Français / English

Saint Paul de Vence

Contemporary Art and celebrities

Saint Paul de VenceSaint Paul de Vence is without doubt one of the most beautiful and most famous villages of Provence. Place holiday sought by artists (painters, sculptors, and then actors or singers) it must also its current celebrity at the Fondation Maeght, a mecca of modern art.

The appearance of Saint Paul de Vence is yet to begin thinking about a fortified city, more than turned to art, because of its walls almost intact. They were built at the request of Francis 1, and is a replica of the citadel of Nice. There was also a castle in Saint Paul de Vence, but it remains today a dungeon, which now houses the town hall.

Other historic location, the chapel Saint Clement, twelfth century, but restored in the seventeenth. It contains among other treasures a painting of St. Catherine of Alexandria, Tintoretto but also statues and silver-gilt, including a black Virgin. The path crosses beautiful walnut, painted using a technique of the sixteenth century, tempera the glue, is modern.

Fontaine, Saint Paul de VenceFinally, one of the symbols of Saint Paul de Vence, Great Fontaine, is undoubtedly the most famous fountain of Provence. Built in 1615, it is classified historical monuments since 1850. Above the basin, iron bars used to support the pitchers that people came fill.

Scores of people have attached their names to the town. Among the best known include painters Matisse, Modigliani, Chagall, Signac, but also writers as Giono or Prévert.

Of course, the world of cinema was not to be outdone and everyone knows, among the actors Yves Montand and Simone Signoret or Lino Ventura... Everyone remembers the Pictures of these stars, playing petanque in the village square, in front of the Auberge de la Colombe d'Or.

LIEN >>> A visit to Saint Paul de Vence: the Maeght Foundation, an outstanding example of a private foundation in Europe.

Pictures of Saint Paul de Vence

Saint Paul de Vence, vue générale Lavoir dans les rues de Saint Paul Une rue

Around Saint Paul de Vence

Vence - Antibes - Cannes - Iles de Lérins - Grasse - Nice - Mandelieu - Côte d'Azur - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Cagnes sur Mer

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Saint Paul de Vence

Art contemporain et célébrités

Saint Paul de VenceSaint Paul de Vence est sans doute un des plus beaux et des plus célèbres villages de Provence. Lieu de vacances recherché par les artistes (peintres, sculpteurs, et ensuite acteurs ou chanteurs) il doit également sa célébrité actuelle à la Fondation Maeght, un haut lieu de l'art moderne.

L'apparence de Saint Paul de Vence fait pourtant d'abord penser à une ville fortifiée, plus que tournée vers l'art, en raison de ses remparts presque intacts. Ils furent édifiés à la demande de François 1er, et sont une réplique de la citadelle de Nice. Il existait également un château à Saint Paul de Vence, mais il n'en subsiste aujourd'hui qu'un donjon qui abrite désormais la mairie.

Autre lieu chargé d'histoire, la chapelle Saint Clément, du XIIe siècle, mais restaurée au XVIIe. Elle contient entre autres trésors un tableau de sainte Catherine d'Alexandrie, du Tintoret mais également des statues en argent et en vermeil, dont une Vierge noire. Le beau chemin de croix en noyer, peint selon une technique du XVIe siècle, la détrempe à la colle, est moderne.

Fontaine, Saint Paul de VenceEnfin, un des symboles de Saint Paul de Vence, la Grande Fontaine, est sans conteste la fontaine la plus célèbre de Provence. Erigée en 1615, elle est classée aux monuments historiques depuis 1850. Au dessus du bassin, les barres de fer servaient à supporter les cruches que les habitants venaient emplir.

De très nombreuses personnalités ont attaché leurs noms à la commune. Parmi les plus connus citons les peintres Matisse, Modigliani, Chagall, Signac, mais également les écrivains comme Giono ou Prévert.

Bien entendu, le monde du cinéma ne fut pas en reste et chacun connaît, parmi les acteurs, Yves Montand et Simone Signoret ou Lino Ventura... Chacun garde en mémoire les photographies de ces vedettes, jouant à la pétanque sur la place du village, devant l'Auberge de la Colombe d'Or.

LIEN >>> A visiter également à Saint Paul de Vence : la Fondation Maeght, un exemple exceptionnel de fondation privée en Europe.

Photographies de Saint Paul de Vence

Saint Paul de Vence, vue générale Lavoir dans les rues de Saint Paul Une rue

Autour de Saint Paul de Vence

Vence - Antibes - Cannes - Iles de Lérins - Grasse - Nice - Mandelieu - Côte d'Azur - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Cagnes sur Mer

Autres villes de Provence