Provence
Français / English

Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

A climate station of the French Riviera

Roquebrune-Cap-MartinRoquebrune-Cap-Martin is a city bordering the Principality of Monaco, topped by a tower which is the only specimen existing castles in France called Carolingian.

Like many towns in the Cote d'Azur, the construction of the town of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin is divided along the hills that plunge into the Mediterranean.

The exceptional climate of this part of the French Riviera to attract tourists throughout the year.

Visit of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

Donjon de Roquebrune-Cap-MartinThe castle was built in the late tenth century by Conrad I, Count of Ventimiglia, to prevent the Saracens to settle again in the region. After passing the power of the counts of Provence and the Republic of Genoa, he belonged for several centuries that the Grimaldi remanièrent construction and introduced artillery in the defence. Initially, the castle was a fortress together in a single forum, breakthrough six-fortified gates, the main tower and the village. In the fifteenth century, the tower took the name of the castle and the rest of the fortress became the village which, until now, has maintained intact its medieval character: narrow streets covered with Romanesque arches, old houses whose walls are still mossy lined with ivy and pariétaires.

The former dungeon of the castle is the oldest in France. Built on a rock poudingue tertiary, it dominates by 26 meters on the facade opposite. The walls that have 2 to 4 meters offer the view all elements of defense: embrassures cannon, machicolation, deadly slots archières, etc.. At the 1st floor, room Ceremonies feudal whose ceiling was burned, most recently in 1747. Note: the location of seigneurial throne, a walled jail, center, a cube-shaped tank, the window mullion, the fifteenth century. More below is the store the food, dug in the rock. The 4th floor is the platform of superior artillery, offering a panorama circular on the roofs of the picturesque village, the sea, the Cap Martin, the Principality of Monaco, Mont Agel.

Note that for nearly 500 years took place in the afternoon of August 5, a procession of six tables representing the main scenes of the Passion (following a vow pronounced in 1467 during an outbreak of plague), it place between the church and chapel of Pausa (Peace).

Do not miss during your visit to Roquebrune-Cap-Martin to go on the road in Menton, 200 meters after leaving the village you will discover Olivier Millennium, an olive tree which is considered to be one of the oldest in the world!

Staying in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

l'olivier millénaire de Roquebrune-Cap-MartinThe town of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin is served by the average low and high cornice (RN7 - RN98 - RD 2564), and also benefits the train that connects its stations (Cabbé and Carnolès) the major cities of Cote d'Azur. Some bus services are also available to go for example at the airport Nice-Cote d'Azur.

The perched village of Roquebrune is only one element of this county that stretches from Monte Carlo to Menton. During your stroll, you will discover many elegant villas nestled among cypress, side hills. You can also benefit from the parkway Le Corbusier, along the sea between Cap-Martin and Cabbé or odorous trails of Cape Martin winding between the trees and mimosas.

The Mediterranean vegetation, dense but sometimes poorly preserved of planning, fragrant yet this coast where you can organize a dream holiday...

Pictures of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

Plage de Roquebrune Rue de Roquebrune Villa Primavera

Around Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

La Côte d'Azur - Menton - Beausoleil - Monaco - Nice - Cannes - Antibes Juan les Pins - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Provence - Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Provence
Français / English

Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

Une station climatique de la Riviera française

Roquebrune-Cap-MartinRoquebrune-Cap-Martin est une ville limitrophe de la principauté de Monaco, couronnée par un donjon qui constitue le seul spécimen existant en France des châteaux dits carolingiens.

Comme pour beaucoup de villes de la Côte d'Azur, les constructions de la commune de Roquebrune-Cap-Martin se répartissent le long des coteaux qui plongent dans la Méditerranée.

Le climat exceptionnel de cette partie de la Côte d'Azur lui attire des touristes tout au long de l'année.

Visite de Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

Donjon de Roquebrune-Cap-MartinLe château fut édifié, à la fin du Xe siècle par Conrad Ier, comte de Vintimille, pour empêcher les Sarrasins de s'établir à nouveau dans la région. Après être passé au pouvoir des comtes de Provence et de la République de Gênes, il appartint pendant plusieurs siècles aux Grimaldi qui remanièrent les constructions et introduisirent l'artillerie dans la défense. A l'origine, le château était une forteresse réunissant dans une même enceinte, percée de six portes fortifiées, le donjon et le village. Au XVe siècle, le donjon prenait la dénomination de château et le reste de la forteresse devint le village qui, jusqu'aujourd'hui, a conservé intact son caractère médiéval : ruelles étroites couvertes de voûtes romanes, vieilles maisons dont les murs moussus sont encore garnis de lierre et de pariétaires.

L’ancien donjon du château est le plus vieux de France. Construit sur un rocher de poudingue tertiaire, il domine de 26 mètres sur la façade opposée. Les murailles qui ont de 2 à 4 mètres offrent à la vue tous les éléments de défense : embrassures de canon, mâchicoulis, meurtrières, créneaux, archières, etc. Au 1er étage, à la salle des Cérémonies féodales dont le plafond fut incendié, en dernier lieu, en 1747. Remarquer : l'emplacement du trône seigneurial, celui d'un cachot muré, au centre, une citerne de forme cubique; la fenêtre à meneau, du XVe siècle. En contrebas se trouve le magasin aux vivres, creusé dans le roc. Le 4e étage représente la plate-forme supérieure d'artillerie, offrant un panorama circulaire sur les toitures pittoresques du village, la mer, le cap Martin, la principauté de Monaco, le mont Agel.

A noter que depuis près de 500 ans a lieu, dans l'après-midi du 5 août, une procession représentant en six tableaux les principales scènes de la Passion (suite à un vœu prononcé en 1467 durant une épidémie de peste), elle se déroule entre l'église et la chapelle de la Pausa (Paix).

Ne manquez pas lors de votre visite à Roquebrune-Cap-Martin de vous rendre sur la route de Menton, à 200 mètres après la sortie du village vous découvrirez l'Olivier Millénaire, un olivier qui passe pour être un des plus vieux du monde !

Séjourner à Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

l'olivier millénaire de Roquebrune-Cap-MartinLa ville de Roquebrune-Cap-Martin est desservie par la moyenne, la basse et la grande corniche (RN7 - RN98 - RD 2564), et profite également du train qui relie ses gares (Cabbé et Carnolès) aux grandes agglomérations de la Côte d´Azur. Des services de cars sont aussi à votre disposition pour vous rendre par exemple à l´aéroport Nice-Côte-d´Azur.

Le village perché de Roquebrune n'est qu'un des éléments de cette commune qui s'étend de Monte-Carlo à Menton. Au cours de vos balades, vous découvrirez de nombreuses et élégantes villas nichées entre les cyprès, à flanc de collines. Vous pourrez également bénéficier de la promenade Le Corbusier, qui longe la mer entre Cap-Martin et Cabbé, ou bien des sentiers odorants du cap Martin qui serpentent entre les oliviers et les mimosas.

La végétation méditerranéenne, dense mais parfois mal préservée de l'urbanisme, parfume encore cette côte où vous pourrez vous organiser des vacances de rêve...

Photographies de Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

Plage de Roquebrune Rue de Roquebrune Villa Primavera

Autour de Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

La Côte d'Azur - Menton - Beausoleil - Monaco - Nice - Cannes - Antibes Juan les Pins - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Provence - Vallauris Golfe-Juan