Provence
Français / English

Port-Cros

An exceptional nature

Port-CrosThe island of Port-Cros introduced the steepest terrain of Hyères (Iles d'Or, Gold Islands), although Mount Vinegar, its highest point, does not exceed 194 metres. The south of the island offers steep cliffs and narrow valleys oriented north, where they reach the sea for them to melt many creeks that sailors once valued for their homeless forth. The maritime influence regulates temperatures, cool storms mistral. The winters are mild, hot, dry summers.

It travels to Port-Cros to benefit from its exceptional nature, preserved since 1963 by the National Park of Port-Cros, which extends over the island of Bagaud and islets of the Gabinière and Rascas. The island was given to the state by a couple, Marcel and Marceline Henry, against the promise of making a national park, reserve of fauna and flora.

The National Park of Port-Cros occupies an area of 700 hectares of land and 1288 hectares of marine areas, making it the first marine park in Europe. It was created on December 14, 1963 and is the only state which is entirely owner.

Port-Cros, who was the Messé (Middle Island) Greeks, owes its present name in the form of a hollow small harbour. Some fishermen's houses, a small church, a castle fill the perimeter of the bay that dominates the height of Eminence. Port-Cros is more steep than its neighbors.

In the twentieth century, Port-Cros was regularly frequented by many intellectuals, including André Malraux, André Gide, Saint-John Perse, Paul Valéry or Jules Supervielle who made highlight of his Moulin family residence.

Pictures of Port-Cros

Plage de La Palud à Port-Cros Port Man Rocher du Rascas

Around Port-Cros

Toulon - Giens - Porquerolles - Ile du Levant - Côte d'Azur - Carqueiranne - Le Lavandou - Bormes les Mimosas - Bandol - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages -

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Port-Cros

Une nature exceptionnelle

Port-CrosL'île de Port-Cros présente le relief le plus abrupt des îles d'Hyères (les îles d'Or), bien que le mont Vinaigre, son point culminant, ne dépasse pas 194 mètres. Le sud de l’île offre des falaises escarpées et des vallons étroits orientés vers le nord, où ils atteignent la mer pour s’y fondre en de nombreuses criques que les marins d’autrefois appréciaient pour l’abri qu’elles procuraient. L’influence maritime régule les températures, que rafraîchissent les tempêtes de mistral. Les hivers sont doux, les étés chauds et secs.

On se rend à Port-Cros pour bénéficier de sa nature exceptionnelle, préservée depuis 1963 par le Parc National de Port-Cros qui s'étend sur l'île de Bagaud et les îlots de la Gabinière et du Rascas. L'île fut donnée à l'Etat par un couple, Marcel et Marceline Henry, contre la promesse d'en faire un parc national, réserve de la faune et de la flore.

Le Parc National de Port-Cros occupe un territoire de 700 hectares de terres émergées et 1288 hectares de surfaces marines, ce qui en fait le premier parc marin européen. Il a été créé le 14 décembre 1963 et est le seul dont l'Etat est entièrement propriétaire.

Port-Cros qui fut la Messé (île du Milieu) des Grecs, doit son nom actuel à la forme en creux de son petit port. Quelques maisons de pêcheurs, une petite église, un château garnissent le pourtour de la baie que domine le fort de l'Éminence. Port-Cros est plus escarpée que ses voisines.

Au XXe siècle, Port-Cros était régulièrement fréquentée par de nombreux intellectuels, notamment André Malraux, André Gide, Saint-John Perse, Paul Valéry ou Jules Supervielle qui fit du fort du Moulin sa demeure familiale.

Photographies de Port-Cros

Plage de La Palud à Port-Cros Port Man Rocher du Rascas

Autour de Port-Cros

Toulon - Giens - Porquerolles - Ile du Levant - Côte d'Azur - Carqueiranne - Le Lavandou - Bormes les Mimosas - Bandol - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages -

Autres villes de Provence