Provence
Français / English

Ile de Porquerolles

The largest of the Iles d'Or

Ile de PorquerollesPlace holiday among the most popular of the French Riviera, the island of Porquerolles is the largest of three islands of Hyères (Gold islands) with its 1254 hectares of area. Its perimeter is some thirty kilometers and the culmination of the island lies the semaphore to 142 m. Very south since located on the same parallel as the Cap Corse, the island of Porquerolles is the southernmost point of the Provence Coast.

History of Porquerolles

Porquerolles, le villageThe island of Porquerolles is the ancient Protè, for the Greek settlers installed on its shore. The north shore is composed of sandy beaches covered with pine trees, heather and odoriferous myrtles, the south coast, as in Port-Cros, is steep.

The small village of Porquerolles, at the bottom of a small bay, gave its name to the whole island was built and there is a hundred years by the military administration. The village was created from 1820, the lighthouse in 1837 and the church in 1850. After being passed into the hands of several successive owners, the island was purchased in 1912 by Franz Joseph Fournier, and offered a wedding gift to his wife, Sylvia. Fournier, son of a poor boatman Belgian, had finally make a fortune in gold prospecting in Mexico, after years of a life of extraordinary adventure through Canada, Panama and California. Starting from its installation on Porquerolles and until his death in 1935, Fournier s'attela to develop a farm-oriented philanthropy.

Acquired in large part by the State in 1971, Porquerolles was placed under the protection of the National Park of Port-Cros and the Conservatoire National Botanical Mediterranean Porquerolles.

Tourism on the Porquerolles Island

Port de PorquerollesThe main activities to Porquerolles are walking, cycling, beach, scuba diving. All these activities are highly regulated, however, particularly to meet the requirements of the Conservatoire National Botanical Mediterranean Porquerolles, created on February 15, 1979.

Walking around the island while offering landscapes quite extraordinary, such as the inlet of Oustaou-Diou (house of God), and named by fishermen because it is the only shelter the coast south.

On the island of Porquerolles is also Fort Sainte-Agathe, the sixteenth century. In 1793, the English captured the island of strong pleasant way. The commander of Fort ignoring the events of the continent, an English admiral came house its fleet in the islands. He invited the commander at its table. While the officer was being french confidence by libations, English sailors landed, attacked the garrison by surprise and blew the fort.

Finally leave the discovery of the lighthouse at Cap d'Arme, located at the southern tip of the island. It is a point of view on almost all of the island: the hills of Langoustier, Fort Sainte-Agathe, semaphore and cliffs of the south. Beyond the Sea, there are the bay of Hyères and the Massif des Maures.

The island of Porquerolles is a truly unique place which has become "site" in 1988.

Fires and cigarettes are banned outside the village, as well as camping. The gathering is strictly prohibited in order to conserve biological diversity. During your visit to Porquerolles, see the detailed regulation of the island in the details of the National Park of Port-Cros.

Pictures of Porquerolles

L'Aiguade Plage de Porquerolles La côte à Porquerolles

Around Porquerolles

Toulon - Giens - Port Cros - Ile du Levant - Côte d'Azur - Carqueiranne - Le Lavandou - Bormes les Mimosas - Bandol - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages -

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Ile de Porquerolles

La plus grande des Iles d'Or

Ile de PorquerollesLieu de vacances parmi les plus prisés de la Côte d'Azur, l’île de Porquerolles est la plus grande des trois îles d'Hyères (les îles d'Or) avec ses 1254 ha de superficie. Son pourtour est d’une trentaine de kilomètres et le point culminant de l’île se situe au sémaphore à 142 m.

Très au Sud puisque située sur le même parallèle que le Cap Corse, l'île de Porquerolles est donc le point le plus méridional de la Côte Provençale.

Histoire de Porquerolles

Porquerolles, le villageL'Ile de Porquerolles est l'ancienne Protè des colons grecs installés sur son rivage. La côte nord est composée de plages de sable couvertes de pins, de bruyères et de myrtes odoriférants ; la côte sud, comme à Port-Cros, est abrupte.

Le petit village de Porquerolles, au fond d'une petite rade, a donné son nom à l'île tout entière et a été bâti il y a une centaine d'années par l'administration militaire. Le village fut créé à partir de 1820, le phare en 1837 et l'église en 1850. Après être passée entre les mains de plusieurs propriétaires successifs, l'île fut achetée en 1912 par François Joseph Fournier, et offerte en cadeau de mariage à sa femme, Sylvia. Fournier, fils d'un pauvre batelier belge, avait fini par faire fortune dans la prospection aurifère au Mexique, après des années d'une vie d'aventurier assez extraordinaire passant par le Canada, Panama et la Californie. A partir de son installation à Porquerolles et jusqu'à sa mort survenue en 1935, Fournier s'attela au développement d'une exploitation agricole à vocation philanthropique.

Acquise en grande partie par l'Etat en 1971, Porquerolles a été placée sous la protection du Parc National de Port-Cros et du Conservatoire Botanique National Méditerranéen de Porquerolles.

Tourisme sur l'île de Porquerolles

Port de PorquerollesLes activités principales à Porquerolles sont la balade, le VTT, la plage, la plongée sous-marine. Toutes ces activités sont cependant extrêmement réglementées, notamment pour répondre aux exigences du Conservatoire Botanique National Méditerranéen de Porquerolles, créé le le 15 février 1979.

Les promenades tout autour de l'île proposent des paysages tout à fait extraordinaires, comme par exemple la calanque de l'Oustaou-de-Diou (maison de Dieu), dénommée ainsi par les pêcheurs parce qu'elle est le seul abri de la côte sud.

Sur l'île de Porquerolles, se trouve également le fort Sainte-Agathe, du XVIe siècle. En 1793, les Anglais s’emparèrent de l’île de forte plaisante manière. Le commandant du fort ignorant les événements du continent, un amiral anglais vint abriter sa flotte dans les îles. Il invita le commandant à sa table. Pendant que l’officier français était mis en confiance par des libations, les marins anglais débarquèrent, surprirent la garnison et firent sauter le fort.

Enfin partez à la découverte du phare du cap d'Arme, situé à la pointe sud de l'île. C'est un point de vue sur la presque totalité de l'île : les collines du Langoustier, le fort Sainte-Agathe, le sémaphore et les falaises du sud. Par delà la mer, on distingue la rade d'Hyères et le massif des Maures.

L'île de Porquerolles est un lieu véritablement exceptionnel qui est devenu "site classé" en 1988.

Les feux et les cigarettes sont interdits en dehors du village, ainsi que le camping ou le bivouac. La cueillette est formellement interdite afin de conserver la diversité biologique. Lors de votre visite à Porquerolles, consultez la réglementation détaillée de l'île dans les points d'informations du Parc National de Port-Cros.

Photographies de Porquerolles

L'Aiguade Plage de Porquerolles La côte à Porquerolles

Autour de Porquerolles

Toulon - Giens - Port Cros - Ile du Levant - Côte d'Azur - Carqueiranne - Le Lavandou - Bormes les Mimosas - Bandol - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages -

Autres villes de Provence