Provence
Français / English

The Mont Ventoux

The Giant of Provence

Le Mont Ventoux, panorama au sommetThe Mont Ventoux, "the Giant of Provence", is a massive summit of Baronnies which culminates at 1912 metres. Located 20 km as the crow flies from Carpentras, it is far enough away from other summits in the region to appear higher than it is actually. But at its peak, temperatures reached, even when we discover a breathtaking panorama across the Alps, the Mediterranean Sea, the Camargue and the lower Rhone Valley in the direction of Avignon, the Cevennes, the Massif Central and even Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde, in Marseille, in clear weather.

Observatoire météo sur le Mont VentouxThe Mont Ventoux end with the Dentelles de Montmirail chain Baronnies. This mountain is composed of limestone urgoniens whitish mass, lower Cretaceous age, and very clear, hence the impression of a snow-covered summit. Filed by UNESCO Biosphere Reserve in 1990, the Mont Ventoux this flora diversity rare, shared between the Mediterranean species and many species Alpine (larch, fir, cedar ...). At the top, subjected to extreme climate, there is even a species found in Arctic region. There are many protected species, some very rare, did meet on the Ventoux. Quite naturally, to preserve the environment, picking plants, even unprotected, is prohibited on the Mont Ventoux.

The Massif du Ventoux participates with Mountain Lure and Monts de Vaucluse, to feed La Fontaine de Vaucluse (France resurgence of the first and fifth World).

For many of us, the Mont Ventoux also represents a step expected of the Tour de France ! The Tour de France offers regularly climb the summit, famous for the steepness of the climb as much heat as it did in July. The peloton crossed for the first time on Ventoux in 1951 during the stage Montpellier-Avignon. Charly Gaul in 1958, Raymond Poulidor in 1965, in 1970 Eddy Merckx, Bernard Thévenet in 1972, Marco Pantani in 2000 and Richard Virenque in 2002 there are illustrated.

Different routes are available to climb the most emblematic borrowed just by the Tour de France, on the road from Bédoin and its 22 km and 1610 metres altitude in a heat toride. The Masterséries is another test, a challenge held annually in late June or early July.

Other place of interest for sports, on the northern slopes of Mont Ventoux, at the foot of Mont Serein peaking at 1445 m, there is a ski resort installed since the 1930s (Alpine: 12 km, Nordic: 7 km) Hotel and a restaurant. The station has managed to diversify its activities by offering leisure summer as riding, mountain biking, rope bridge, climbing a tree, an introduction to astronomy, and so on.

Finally, we must warn the hikers that the Mont Ventoux has two great hiking trails GR 91 and the GR 91b.

Frederic Mistral in 1859 climbed night at the summit of Mont Ventoux to attend the sunrise at the top. He reported about this event in these terms: "We saw the sun emerge as a great king of glory, between the peaks of dazzling snow-covered Alps."

Pictures of Mont Ventoux

Le Mont Ventoux Au sommet du mont Ventoux Le versant sud du mont Ventoux

Around the Mont Ventoux

Dentelles de Montmirail - Vaison la Romaine - Orange - Avignon - Carpentras - Villeneuve lez Avignon

Other villages in Provence -

Provence
Français / English

Le Mont Ventoux

Le Géant de Provence

Le Mont Ventoux, panorama au sommetLe Mont Ventoux, le "Géant de Provence", est un sommet du massif des Baronnies qui culmine à 1912 mètres. Situé à 20 km à vol d'oiseau de Carpentras, il est assez éloigné des autres sommets de la région pour paraître plus haut qu'il n'est en réalité. Mais à son sommet, par temps dégagé, on découvre quand même un panorama exceptionnel sur toute la chaîne des Alpes, la mer Méditerranée, la Camargue et la basse vallée du Rhône en direction d'Avignon, les Cévennes, le Massif central et même Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde à Marseille par temps clair.

Observatoire météo sur le Mont VentouxLe Mont Ventoux termine avec les Dentelles de Montmirail la chaîne des Baronnies. Cette montagne est constituée de calcaires urgoniens blanchâtres massifs, d'âge crétacé inférieur, et très clairs, d'où cette impression d'un sommet enneigé. Classé par l'UNESCO "Réserve de biosphère" en 1990, le Mont Ventoux présente une flore d'une diversité rare, partagée entre les espèces méditerranéennes et de nombreuses espèces alpines (mélèzes, sapins, cèdres...). Au sommet, soumis à un climat extrême, on trouve même une espèce observée en région arctique. Nombreuses sont les espèces protégées, certaines, très rares, ne se rencontrent que sur le Ventoux. Tout naturellement, pour préserver l'environnement, la cueillette des végétaux, même non protégés, est interdite sur le Mont Ventoux.

Le massif du Ventoux participe avec la Montagne de Lure et les Monts de Vaucluse, à l'alimentation de La Fontaine de Vaucluse (première résurgence de France et cinquième mondiale).

Pour nombre d'entre nous, le Mont Ventoux représente aussi une des étapes les plus célèbres du Tour de France ! Le Tour de France propose en effet régulièrement l'ascension de ce sommet, célèbre pour la raideur de sa montée tout autant que par la chaleur qu'il y fait en juillet. Le peloton franchit pour la première fois le Ventoux en 1951 au cours de l'étape Montpellier-Avignon. Charly Gaul en 1958, Raymond Poulidor en 1965, Eddy Merckx en 1970, Bernard Thévenet en 1972, Marco Pantani en 2000 et Richard Virenque en 2002 s'y sont notamment illustrés.
Différents itinéraires sont possibles pour l'ascension dont le plus emblématique, emprunté justement par le Tour de France, par la route de Bédoin et ses 22 km et 1610 m de dénivelé sous une chaleur toride. Le Masterséries est une autre épreuve, un défi organisé chaque année fin juin ou début juillet.

Autre lieu d'interêt pour les sportifs, sur le versant nord du Mont Ventoux, au pied du Mont Serein culminant à 1445 m, on trouve une station de ski installée depuis les années 1930 (alpin : 12 km, nordique : 7 km), et un hôtel-restaurant. Cette station a su diversifier ses activités en proposant des loisirs l'été comme l'équitation, le vélo tout terrain, la tyrolienne, la grimpe d'arbre, l'initiation à l'astronomie, etc.

Enfin, il faut signaler aux amateurs de randonnées que le Mont-Ventoux possède deux sentiers de grande randonnée le GR 91 et le GR 91b

Frédéric Mistral en 1859 monta de nuit au sommet du Mont Ventoux pour assister au lever du soleil à son sommet. Il relata cet évènement en ces termes : "Nous vîmes le soleil surgir, tel un superbe roi de gloire, entre les cimes éblouissantes des Alpes couvertes de neige".

Photographies du Mont Ventoux

Le Mont Ventoux Au sommet du mont Ventoux Le versant sud du mont Ventoux

Autour du Mont Ventoux

Dentelles de Montmirail - Vaison la Romaine - Orange - Avignon - Carpentras - Villeneuve lez Avignon

Autres villages de Provence -