Provence
Français / English

Principality of Monaco

A principality on the French Riviera

La Prinipauté de MonacoLocated on the Mediterranean coast, 18 km from Nice and 12 km from the Franco-Italian border, the Principality of Monaco is landlocked, except for its coastline in the territory of France. The French communities bordering Monaco are, from west to east, Cap-d'Ail, La Turbie, Beausoleil and Roquebrune-Cap-Martin.

Independent since 1297, the Principality of Monaco occupies an area of 2 square kilometres which, according to the Vatican, in fact, the second smallest independent state in the world. Almost entirely urbanized, the Principality of Monaco enjoys a particularly mild Mediterranean climate and has many facilities Hotellières luxury.

the Principality

La Vieille Ville de Monaco (le Rocher)The principality of Monaco is divided into ten districts whose most famous are :
- Monaco-Ville, the old city on the rocky promontory entering the sea, known as the Rock
- Monte-Carlo, the main residential area and casino
- The Ténao, above Larvotto, between Saint-Roman and Place des Moulins.
- The Larvotto or area beaches.
- La Condamine, the area along the main port
- Moneghetti, residential neighborhood north west.
- Fontvieille, a new district took to the sea

Le quartier de FontvieilleIn recent years, major work has enabled Monaco to expand by nearly 40 hectares, mainly earned on the sea. The earliest work infilling began in 1865 to create the track, followed a few years after by the creation of the first industrial district of Fontvieille, which helped earn 5.5 hectares on the sea.

The bottom of the port of Monaco was then filled and, in the years 1960, the Grimaldi Forum and the Larvotto were built. In 1965, an initiative of Prince Rainier III and to diversify the activities of the city, construction of the district of Fontvieille has created 220 000 m2 of new land for construction, as well as a new port.

Tourism in Monaco

Le Palais de MonacoThe geographical location of Monaco and its Mediterranean climate has always made the principality a destination for tourists. Tourism has always been primarily oriented clientele luxury, attracted by the many sporting and cultural events, casinos (including the famous Casino de Monte-Carlo), but the tourism sector has recently redeployed to the tourism business , Congresses and seminars.

Many tourists who start their visit to Monaco by visiting the Palace. It is located on a geological site unique and spectacular, a rock over 60 meters high, facing the Mediterranean Sea. It was built on the site of a medieval fortress established by the Genoese which took the first Grimaldi, François Grimaldi said Le Rusé. From the fourteenth to the sixteenth century, the facade on the square was decorated with balconies. The gallery of Hercules, the Throne Room and the Court of Honour were created during the Renaissance. The sovereigns were building a new wing housing their apartments, the museum of Napoleonic memorabilia and archives of princely palaces.

Musée Océanographique de MonacoIn addition to your visit to the Palais and the princely gardens, do not miss the Oceanographic Museum of Monaco, built in 1889 by Prince Albert I of Monaco. It is a museum dedicated to the sea, with laboratories, collections of coins reported its explorations, aquariums fauna and flora of the seabed of the Mediterranean and dependencies.
The museum's mission is to develop and make the public aware of oceanography through historical collections Prince founder, permanent and temporary exhibitions or collections of its living aquariums.
The museum is one of the largest buildings of the rock with the palace, the only one flan on a cliff and down along the cliff to the Mediterranean Sea, 80 metres below.

Finally, one can not mention Monaco without mentioning the famous Casino de Monte-Carlo, a symbol of luxury, the Jet-Set, and risky fortunes on the green carpet.

The Casino de Monte-Carlo is one of the most prestigious and luxurious Baroque-style casinos on the planet. It belongs to the League of sea bathing Monaco and was established and inaugurated in 1865 by François Blanc, nicknamed "the magician Monte Carlo" and by Prince Charles III of Monaco (1818-1889)

Pictures of Monaco

Monte-Carlo Casino de Monte-Carlo Place du Casino

Around Monaco

La Côte d'Azur - Menton - Beausoleil - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Nice - Cannes - Antibes - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Provence - Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Provence
Français / English

Monaco

Une principauté sur la Côte d'Azur

La Prinipauté de MonacoSituée sur la côte méditerranéenne, à 18 km de Nice et 12 km de la frontière franco-italienne, la Principauté de Monaco est enclavée, excepté pour sa façade maritime, dans le territoire de la France. Les communes françaises limitrophes de Monaco sont, d'ouest en est, Cap-d'Ail, La Turbie, Beausoleil et Roquebrune-Cap-Martin.

Indépendante depuis 1297, la Principauté de Monaco occupe une superficie de 2 km² ce qui, après le Vatican, en fait le deuxième plus petit Etat indépendant du monde. Pratiquement entièrement urbanisée, la Principauté de Monaco bénéficie d’un climat méditerranéen particulièrement clément et dispose de nombreuses installations hôtellières de luxe.

La Principauté

La Vieille Ville de Monaco (le Rocher) La principauté de Monaco est divisée en dix quartiers dont les plus célèbres sont
- Monaco-Ville, la vieille ville sur le promontoire rocheux pénétrant dans la mer, dite le Rocher
- Monte-Carlo, la zone résidentielle principale et le casino
- Le Ténao, au-dessus du Larvotto, entre Saint-Roman et la place des Moulins.
- Le Larvotto, ou quartier des plages.
- La Condamine, la zone longeant le port principal
- Les Moneghetti, quartier d'habitations du nord ouest.
- Fontvieille, un nouveau quartier pris sur la mer

Le quartier de FontvieilleAu cours des dernières années, des grands travaux ont permis à Monaco de s’étendre de près de 40 hectares, principalement gagnés sur la mer. Les tout premiers travaux de remblaiement ont commencé en 1865 pour créer la voie ferrée, suivis quelques années après par la création du premier quartier industriel de Fontvieille, qui a permis de gagner 5,5 hectares sur la mer. Le fond du port de Monaco a ensuite été comblé et, dans les années 1960, le Grimaldi Forum ainsi que le Larvotto ont été construits. En 1965, sur une initiative du Prince Rainier III et afin de diversifier les activités de la ville, la construction du quartier de Fontvieille a permis la création de 220 000 m2 de nouveaux terrains constructibles supplémentaires ainsi que d’un nouveau port.

Tourisme à Monaco

Le Palais de MonacoLa situation géographique de Monaco ainsi que son climat méditerranéen à toujours fait de la principauté une destination prisée des touristes. Le tourisme a toujours principalement été orienté vers la clientèle de luxe, attirée par les nombreuses manifestations sportives et culturelles, les casinos (dont le célébre Casino de Monte-Carlo), mais le secteur touristique s’est récemment redéployé vers le tourisme d’affaire, de congrès et de séminaires.

Nombreux sont les touristes qui commencent leur visite à Monaco en se rendant au Palais. Il est situé sur un site géologique unique et spectaculaire, un rocher de plus de 60 mètres de haut, face à la mer Méditerranée. Il a été édifié sur l'emplacement d'une forteresse médiévale établie par les Génois dont s'empara le premier Grimaldi, François Grimaldi dit le Rusé. Du XIVe au XVIe siècle, la façade sur la place fut ornée de loggias. La galerie d'Hercule, la salle du Trône et la cour d'Honneur furent créées à la Renaissance. Les souverains actuels firent construire une nouvelle aile abritant leurs appartements, le musée des souvenirs napoléoniens et les archives du palais princier.

Musée Océanographique de MonacoEn plus de votre visite au Palais princier et aux jardins, ne manquez pas le Musée océanographique de Monaco, construit en 1889 par le prince Albert Ier de Monaco. C'est un musée entièrement dédié à la mer, avec des laboratoires, des collections de pièces rapportées de ses explorations, des aquariums de faune et de flore des fonds sous-marins de la Méditerranée et des dépendances.
Le musée a pour mission de développer et de faire connaître au public l’océanographie à travers les collections historiques du Prince fondateur, les expositions permanentes et temporaires ou les collections vivantes de ses aquariums.
Le musée est l'un des bâtiments les plus imposants du rocher avec le palais de Monaco, le seul à être à flan de falaise et à descendre le long de cette falaise jusqu'à la mer Méditerranée, 80 m plus bas.

Enfin, on ne peut évoquer Monaco sans mentionner le célébrissime Casino de Monte-Carlo, symbole du luxe, de la Jet-Set, et des fortunes risquées sur les tapis verts.

Le casino de Monte-Carlo est un des plus prestigieux et luxueux casinos de style Baroque de la planète. Il appartient au groupe Société des bains de mer de Monaco et a été fondé et inauguré en 1865 par François Blanc, surnommé « le magicien de Monte-Carlo » et par le prince Charles III de Monaco (1818-1889)

Photographies de Monaco

Monte-Carlo Casino de Monte-Carlo Place du Casino

Autour de Monaco

La Côte d'Azur - Menton - Beausoleil - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Nice - Cannes - Antibes - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Provence - Vallauris Golfe-Juan