Provence
Français / English

Mercantour National Park

The nature preserved in the Southern Alps

Parc National du MercantourThe Mercantour National Park is one of seven national parks in France, located in the departments of Alpes-Maritimes and Alpes de Haute-Provence. It is particularly known for hosting dozens of wolves from Italy.

To protect wildlife, central areas of Massif du Mercantour were first ordered royal hunting reserve in 1859 by King Victor Emmanuel II, then Reserve fighter in 1946, and Reserve in 1953 by ministerial decree. The Mercantour National Park was established in 1979.

The Mercantour National Park covers a territory of the first 685 sq. km, the central area, then a peripheral area of 1463 km², including 28 municipalities. The Mercantour National Park is attached to the Ministry of Environment.

Its tasks are threefold

1 - Protecting nature : in the central zone, the rules of environmental protection are very strict; panels green background you will indicate the main permits and prohibitions. Failure to comply can expose you to fines.
2 - Host and awareness : The central area of the Mercantour National Park, particularly regulated, however, is open to all. It is accessible on foot, and does not deprive you go there during your walks. The protected areas are covered by 600 km of trails, very well maintained. In some communes, Properties Park to better inform you about the different possibilities for excursions.
3 - To promote local development : In the 28 municipalities in the peripheral area, the Mercantour National Park using local actors to enhance the cultural and architectural heritage, in the constant concern for environmental protection. The facilities receive technical and financial aid.

The fauna

The Mercantour National Park is home to a varied wildlife and abundant. The mountains can admire the ibex and chamois, while the valleys are frequented by many deer, deer and wild boar. The birds (black grouse, golden eagle, Gypaetus barbatus) are present everywhere. Of course, the wolf is still present in the Mercantour, since it made a return naturally in this region.

The flora

The flora is also extremely rich in the Mercantour, it is represented by more than 2000 species on the 4200 identified in France. The larch is without doubt the tree that symbolizes the best Mercantour. In some cities (Colmars les Alpes, Allos...) you will see a few roofs made with the traditional species.

Under the dual influence of the Southern Alps and the Mediterranean, the Mercantour National Park welcomes you to an exhilarating walk through a nature preserve.

Note that since 1987 the National Park is paired with the regional park nearby Parco naturale Alpi Marittime, Italy, with which a draft European Park is also under consideration. The Italian park is created around the massive Argentera, whose summit, close to our border, rises to 3290 metres

Pictures of the Mercantour National Park

Allos - toits de mélèze Lac d'Allos Mercantour Parc du Mercantour Mercantour 2 Parc du Mercantour 2

Around the Mercantour

Vallée du Haut Verdon - Vallée de L'Ubaye - Allos - Colmars les Alpes - Barcelonnette - Jausiers - Lac de Serre-Ponçon - Gorges du Verdon

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Le Parc du Mercantour

La nature préservée dans les Alpes du Sud

Parc National du MercantourLe Parc national du Mercantour est un des sept parcs nationaux de France, situé sur les départements des Alpes-Maritimes et des Alpes-de-Haute-Provence. Il est connu particulièrement pour accueillir quelques dizaines de loups venus d'Italie.

Afin de protéger la faune, les territoires centraux du massif du Mercantour ont d'abord été classés Réserve royale de chasse en 1859 par le roi Victor-Emmanuel II, puis Réserve de chasse en 1946 par arrêté préfectoral et Réserve en 1953 par arrêté ministériel. Le Parc National du Mercantour a été créé en 1979.

Le Parc National du Mercantour couvre un premier territoire de 685 Km², la zone centrale, puis une zone périphérique de 1463 Km², comprenant 28 communes. Le Parc National du Mercantour est rattaché au ministère de l'environnement.

Ses missions sont triples

1 - Protéger la nature : dans la zone centrale, les règles de protection de l'environnement sont très strictes ; des panneaux à fond vert vous indiqueront les autorisations et interdictions principales. Ne pas les respecter peut vous exposer à des amendes.
2 - Accueillir et sensibiliser : La zone centrale du Parc National du Mercantour, particulièrement réglementée, est cependant ouverte à tous. Elle n'est accessible qu'à pied, et ne vous privez pas d'y aller lors de vos randonnées. Les milieux protégés sont parcourus par 600 Km de sentiers, très bien entretenus. Dans certaines communes, des Maisons du Parc vous renseigneront au mieux sur les différentes possibilités d'excursions.
3 - Favoriser le développement local : Dans les 28 communes de la zone périphérique, le Parc National du Mercantour aide les acteurs locaux à valoriser le patrimoine culturel et architectural, dans le souci constant d'une protection de l'environnement. Les aménagements bénéficient d'aides techniques et financières.

La faune

Le Parc National du Mercantour abrite une faune sauvage variée et abondante. Les montagnes permettent d'admirer les bouquetins et les chamois, alors que les vallées sont fréquentées par nombre de cerfs, de chevreuil et de sangliers. Les oiseaux (tétras-lyre, aigle royal, gypaète barbu) sont partout présents. Bien entendu, le loup est toujours présent dans le Mercantour, depuis qu'il a effectué un retour naturel dans cette région.

La flore

La flore est également extrêmement riche dans le Mercantour, puisqu'elle est représentée par plus de 2000 espèces sur les 4200 recensées en France. Le mélèze est sans doute l'arbre qui symbolise le mieux le Mercantour. Dans certaines villes (Colmars les Alpes, Allos...) vous verrez encore quelques toits traditionnels réalisés avec cette essence.

Sous la double influence des Alpes du Sud et de la Méditerranée, le Parc National du Mercantour vous accueillera pour une enivrante promenade dans une nature préservée.

A noter que depuis 1987,le Parc National est jumelé avec le parc régional voisin Parco naturale Alpi Marittime, en Italie, avec lequel un projet de Parc européen est aussi à l'étude. Le parc italien est créé autour du massif de l'Argentera, dont le sommet, tout proche de notre frontière, culmine à 3290 mètres.

Photos du Parc National du Mercantour

Allos - toits de mélèze Lac d'Allos Mercantour Parc du Mercantour Mercantour 2 Parc du Mercantour 2

Autour du Mercantour

Vallée du Haut Verdon - Vallée de L'Ubaye - Allos - Colmars les Alpes - Barcelonnette - Jausiers - Lac de Serre-Ponçon - Gorges du Verdon

Autres villes de Provence