Provence
Français / English

Menton

The eastern boundary of the Cote d'Azur - The Riviera

Menton, le bord de mer en 1909Menton, located at the Italian border, is nicknamed "The Pearl of France" (an appellation due to geographer Elisée Reclus in its Universal Geography).

The lemon became the symbol of the city, since it is the only region in France where, thanks to a unique microclimate, lemon trees grow. Also, since sixty-five years, the lemon festival takes place in the city and takes place between the last three weekends of February.

A short history of Menton

Une rue de MentonIt is on the hill Pépin, west of the town of today, what will doubtless groupait Greater primitive around his castle founded under the leadership of the count of Ventimiglia. The Lordship of Puypin (Podium Pinum) went with that of Menton in the thirteenth century Vento, Genoese family who built another castle: it gave birth to the town of today.

The first mention of the city dated 21 July 1262, in the peace treaty between Charles d'Anjou and Genoa. His position on the edge of the county Provencal and the Republic of Genoa - which then claimed Monaco as its western boundary - in fact a relatively coveted position.

Menton was attached to France during the Revolution and the First Empire and was then part of the department of Alpes-Maritimes (which included Monaco and Sanremo). In 1848 Menton separated from the Principality of Monaco. It is true that the prince of Monaco wanted to levy a tax on the export of lemons, the main resource of the city ...

Menton, City of Art and History

Le Bastion, à MentonThe label "Towns and Country Art and History" is awarded since 1985 by the french Ministry of Culture, for cities or countries embarking on a policy of animation and promoting the heritage and architecture.

In 1991, the city of Menton has signed an agreement with the Caisse Nationale des Monuments and Sites, making it the first "City of Art and History" on the French Riviera.

All year guides lecturers approved by the Ministry of Culture lead you to discover the rich heritage of Menton. Among these treasures include:

Jean Cocteau - affiche- Le Bastion : facing the sea, on the port of Menton. It was originally built in the open sea by the Princes of Monaco, as a defence advanced port in 1636. It now houses the museum Jean Cocteau (who performed including murals of the hall marriages at the town hall).

- Palace Carnolès : former home of Antoine I of Monaco, now a museum and main collection of citrus in France. Despite several changes of hands and some modifications, the flag of Monaco has retained its character as trianon surrounded by orange trees. Medium-sized, this garden without climbing is very easy access.

- The Basilica of Saint-Michel : a religious building, which form a remarkable baroque ensemble

Menton, parks and gardens

Citrons dans le Jardin des Agrumes de MentonBotanical Garden of Val Rahmeh : Located avenue Saint-Jacques, it was created by Lord Percy Radcliffe, former governor of the island of Malta. In 1950, it falls to the botanist Miss Campbell, fascinated by the daturas. It is now owned by the National Museum of Natural History. You will discover many exotic plants and edible and some rare species as Sophora Toromino, the mythical tree of Easter Island.

Also visit the garden of the Palais citrus Carnolès which contains the largest collection of citrus in Europe. The palace Carnolès, former summer residence of Antoine I of Monaco, home to the Museum of Fine Arts.

Serre de la MadoneLa Serre de la Madone covers seven hectares at the foot of the Sierra de la Madone. The garden was created between two world wars by Major Lawrence Johnston reported that his travels in Africa and East a large number of plants whose mahonia. Ranked historical monument in 1990, it is now at the Conservatory of coastline since 1999.

Finally, do not miss the Garden Novelists : Fontana Rosa. It is a garden particularly original inspiration and Arab-Andalusian, where stand of Ficus macrophylla, palm trees and Araucaria heterophylla. The garden is a tribute to the writers Favorites Blasco Ibáñez: Cervantes, Dickens, Shakespeare, whose portraits are visible at the entrance of the residence and who are dedicated alternately some rotundas or fountains, hence the name " Garden Novelists. "

Pictures of Menton

La baie de Menton Port de Menton Plage de Menton

Around Menton

La Côte d'Azur - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Nice - Cannes - Antibes Juan les Pins - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Provence - Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Provence
Français / English

Menton

La limite est de la Côte d'Azur - La Riviera

Menton, le bord de mer en 1909Menton, située à la frontière italienne, est surnommée " la Perle de la France" (une appellation due au géographe Elisée Reclus dans sa Géographie universelle).

Le citron est devenu le symbole de la ville, puisqu’il s’agit de la seule région en France où, grâce à un incomparable microclimat, des citronniers fructifient. Aussi, depuis soixante-quinze ans, la fête du citron a lieu dans la ville et se déroule entre les trois derniers week-ends de février.

Une brève histoire de Menton

Une rue de MentonC’est sur la colline de Pépin, à l’ouest de la ville actuelle, que se groupait sans doute l’agglomération primitive, autour de son château fondé sous l’impulsion du comte de Vintimille. La seigneurie de Puypin (Podium Pinum) échut avec celle de Menton au XIIIe siècle aux Vento, famille génoise qui y construisit un autre château : celui-ci donna naissance à la ville actuelle.

La première mention de la ville date du 21 juillet 1262, dans le traité de paix entre Charles d'Anjou et Gênes. Sa position à la limite du comté provençal angevin et de la république de Gênes - qui revendiquait alors Monaco comme sa limite occidentale - en fait une position relativement convoitée.

Menton fut rattachée à la France durant la Révolution et le Premier Empire et fit alors partie du département des Alpes-Maritimes (qui incluait Monaco et Sanremo). En 1848 Menton fit sécession de la principauté de Monaco. Il est vrai que le prince de Monaco s’obstinait à percevoir une taxe sur l'exportation des citrons, principale ressource de la ville...

Menton, Ville d'Art et d'Histoire

Le Bastion, à MentonLe label "Villes et Pays d'Art et d'Histoire" est attribué depuis 1985 par le Ministère de la Culture français aux villes ou pays s'engageant dans une politique d'animation et de valorisation du patrimoine et de l'architecture.

En 1991, la ville de Menton a signé une convention avec la Caisse nationale des Monuments historiques et des sites, faisant d’elle la première "Ville d’Art et d’Histoire" de la Côte d’Azur.

Toute l’année les guides conférenciers agréés par le Ministère de la Culture vous conduisent à la découverte des richesses du patrimoine mentonnais. Parmi ces richesses, citons notamment :

Jean Cocteau - affiche- le Bastion : face à la mer, sur le port de Menton. Il fut construit à l'origine en pleine mer, par les Princes de Monaco, comme défense avancée du port en 1636. Il abrite aujourd’hui le musée Jean Cocteau (qui effectua notamment les peintures murales de la salle des mariages à la mairie).

- le Palais de Carnolès : ancienne demeure d'Antoine Ier de Monaco, aujourd'hui musée et principale collection d'agrumes de France. Malgré plusieurs changements de main et quelques modifications, le pavillon princier a conservé son caractère de trianon entouré d’orangers. De taille moyenne, ce jardin sans dénivellation est d’une grande facilité d’accès.

- la Basilique Saint-Michel : un édifice religieux qui forme un remarquable ensemble baroque

Menton, parcs et jardins

Citrons dans le Jardin des Agrumes de MentonJardin botanique du Val Rahmeh : Situé avenue Saint-Jacques, il a été créé par Lord Percy Radcliffe, ancien gouverneur de l’Ile de Malte. Dans les années 1950, il échoit à la botaniste Miss Campbell, passionnée par les daturas. Il est aujourd'hui propriété du Muséum national d'histoire naturelle. Vous y découvrirez de nombreuses plantes exotiques et comestibles ainsi que quelques espèces rares comme le Sophora Toromino, l'arbre mythique de l’Ile de Pâques.

Visitez aussi le jardin d'agrumes du Palais Carnolès qui contient la plus importante collection d’agrumes d’Europe. Le palais Carnolès, ancienne résidence d’été d’Antoine Ier de Monaco, abrite le Musée des Beaux-Arts.

Serre de la MadoneLa Serre de la Madone couvre sept hectares au pied de la sierra de la Madone. Le jardin fut créé entre deux-guerres par le major Lawrence Johnston qui rapporta de ses voyages en Afrique du Sud et en Orient un grand nombre de plantes dont le mahonia. Classé Monument historique en 1990, il appartient désormais au Conservatoire du littoral depuis 1999.

Enfin, ne manquez pas le Jardin des Romanciers : Fontana Rosa. Il s'agit d'un jardin particulièrement original d'inspiration andalouse et arabo-persanne, où se dressent des Ficus macrophylla, des palmiers et des Araucaria heterophylla. Le jardin se veut un hommage aux écrivains favoris de Blasco Ibáñez : Cervantès, Dickens, Shakespeare, dont les portraits sont visibles à l'entrée de la résidence et auxquels sont dédiés tour à tour certaines rotondes ou fontaines, d'où le nom de "Jardin des Romanciers".

Photographies de Menton

La baie de Menton Port de Menton Plage de Menton

Autour de Menton

La Côte d'Azur - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Nice - Cannes - Antibes Juan les Pins - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Provence - Vallauris Golfe-Juan