Provence
Français / English

Lorgues

Between the Mediterranean and Verdon

LorguesLorgues is a small town in the department of Var, not far from Draguignan.

Built on the side of hills, amid vineyards and olive trees, it is almost equal distance from the beaches of Mediterranean and the Gorges du Verdon. Lorgues has therefore an enviable location and a natural environment which makes it a very popular place.

Village pleasant, slightly steep alleyways, Lorgues has an interesting architectural heritage with, for example, these fountains and wash (Fountain of walnuts, Font Covered ..), all different, and so refreshing in the heart of the Provencal summer !

The main street of Lorgues, lined with imposing mansions, is particularly remarkable facades still with its superbly maintained and tastefully restored.

Fontaine à LorguesThe Church of Lorgues is also worthy of interest. Building impressive, it dates from the eighteenth century, and has a high altar decorated with heads of angels, the sculptor Pierre Puget.

The presence on the town of dolmens certifies that Lorgues is a territory inhabited since ancient times. And the city's history is unfolding before our eyes with the district of Ruou temple, with its fortified walls and wrought iron tower, or the fifteenth century chapel of Notre Dame Ben-Va, a monument decorated with splendid frescoes.

For more pleasure ground, highlighted the weekly market of Lorgues (Tuesday morning), which is one of the most attractive in this region of Provence.

Do not miss out, you surely open appetite!

Pictures of Lorgues

Rue de Lorgues Agréable terrasse d'un restaurant Centre ville Lorgues et les couleurs de Provence Maison à Lorgues Elégante entrée d'une maison

Around Lorgues

Gorges du Verdon - Lac de Sainte Croix - Côte d'Azur - Draguignan - Sainte Maxime - Saint Tropez- Grimaud - Villecroze - Montagne Sainte Victoire - Abbaye du Thoronet

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Lorgues

Entre Méditerranée et Verdon

LorguesLorgues est une petite ville du département du Var, pas très loin de Draguignan. Bâtie à flanc de coteaux, au milieu des vignes et des oliviers, elle est pratiquement à égale distance des plages de Méditerranée et des gorges du Verdon. Lorgues dispose donc d'une situation géographique enviable et d'un environnement naturel qui en font un endroit très prisé.

Village agréable, aux ruelles légèrement pentues, Lorgues possède un patrimoine architectural intéressant avec par exemple ces fontaines et lavoirs (Fontaine de la Noix, Font Couverte..), tous différents, et si rafraîchissants au coeur de l'été provençal !

L'artère principale de Lorgues, bordée d'imposantes maisons bourgeoises, est particulièrement remarquable avec ses façades toujours superbement entretenue et restaurées avec goût.

Fontaine à LorguesL'église de Lorgues est également digne d'intérêt. Bâtisse impressionnante, elle date du XVIIIe siècle, et possède un maître-autel orné de têtes d'anges, oeuvre du sculpteur Pierre Puget.

La présence sur la commune de dolmens atteste que Lorgues est un territoire habité depuis la nuit des temps. Et l'histoire de la ville se déroule sous nos yeux avec le quartier templier du Ruou, avec l'enceinte fortifiée et son beffroi de fer forgé, ou la chapelle du XVe siècle Notre Dame de Ben-Va, un monument classé ornée de splendides fresques.

Pour des plaisirs plus terrestres, signalons le marché hebdomadaire de Lorgues (mardi matin) qui est un des plus attractifs et des mieux achalandés de cette région de Provence. Ne le manquez pas, vous vous ouvrirez à coup sûr l'appétit !

Photographies de Lorgues

Rue de Lorgues Agréable terrasse d'un restaurant Centre ville Lorgues et les couleurs de Provence Maison à Lorgues Elégante entrée d'une maison

Autour de Lorgues

Gorges du Verdon - Lac de Sainte Croix - Côte d'Azur - Draguignan - Sainte Maxime - Saint Tropez- Grimaud - Villecroze - Montagne Sainte Victoire - Abbaye du Thoronet

Autres villes de Provence