Provence
Français / English

The Lerins Islands

Some islands in front of Cannes

Iles de LérinsLérins islands are located opposite the town of Cannes, to which they belong administratively. They form an archipelago composed of the island of Sainte-Marguerite (the biggest), Ile Saint-Honorat (owned by a monastery), and islets of the Tradelière and Saint-Ferréol, both uninhabited.

Île Sainte-Marguerite

Île Sainte MargueriteThe island of Sainte-Marguerite is a little more than a kilometre from the continent, it stretches from west to east over a distance of 3 km, and its width is 900 m away. There are beautiful wood eucalyptus, the oldest in Europe, and pine. The majority of the island is covered by forest, an area protected state-owned, and is the second most visited forest in France.
In addition to this beautiful forest, you'll no doubt be keen to visit Fort Sainte-Marguerite. Built by Richelieu, it has been strengthened by Vauban and served as a state prison. It now welcomes the Sea Museum, with collections of underwater archaeology.
But its tourist attraction has also just what one can visit the cell of the Iron Mask. In 1687, Fort Sainte-Marguerite receives the famous prisoner... which undoubtedly bore a simple mask velvet. The identity of the prisoner was never established, and legends, assumptions, or very serious work of historians have described alternately a brother of Louis XIV of adultery, a secretary of the Duke of Mantua, an accomplice of the empoisonneuse the Brinvilliers, Fouquet, a spy Italian, etc.. The Iron Mask died in 1703 at the Bastille, and his identity is very probably permanently lost.

To reach the island of Sainte-Marguerite
Information and Ticketing
Port of Cannes, quai Laubeuf
TEL: 04 92 98 71 31
croisieres@riviera-lines.com

Île Saint-Honorat

Ile Saint HonoratThe Ile Saint-Honorat is the farthest from the coast and the smaller of the two islands. Long 1 500 m wide, 400 m, it presents a low coast less welcoming than the island of Sainte-Marguerite, which it is separated by a narrow channel said: "Middle plateau." It is wooded with pine trees and beautiful maritime pine trees.
The Ile Saint-Honorat perpetuates the memory of Honorat d'Arles (Saint Honorat). At the end of the fourth century, Saint Honorat, seeking solitude, fixed in one of two islands "Lerinas" but his retirement is known and the disciples come. Résigné, the saint who founded a monastery will count among the most famous and most powerful of Christendom. Today, the island is still the property of monks.
To the south of the island, you will discover a fortress, built in 1073 to protect monks brash pirates. From the fifteenth century until 1788, the religious lived there on a permanent basis and underwent numerous attacks. From the platform, topped with battlements and machicolations, located at the top of the old dungeon, the view extends over the Lérins Islands and along the coast, the Esterel to Cape d'Antibes and back - plan, the Alps.
The monastery today attracts many pilgrims or reprocessors. In the garden of the cloister are grouped fragments lapidary Roman and Christian found on the island. The old cloister, whose walls date back to part of the seventh century and barrel vaults of the tenth century, is one of the oldest of its kind in the West. The gallery is open by a door open hanger bass, house vaulted warheads, and backed the South Gallery, another room of the same style that serves as a refectory to the monks. The canvas at the bottom of the coin depicts the Last Supper was executed in 1900 by Pita.

To reach the island Saint Honorat
Company PLANARIA
TEL: 04 92 98 71 38
Quai des islands - port of Cannes - The direction by Bocca seafront opposite the hotel sofitel.

Notre Dame de Lérins Abbey
Ile St Honorat BP 157 06406 Cannes cedex
TEL : 04 92 99 54 00
info@abbayedelerins.com
Site inernet : http://www.abbayedelerins.com

Pictures ofs îles de Lérins

Monastère fortifié à Saint Honorat Chapelle à Saint Honorat La côte à Sainte Marguerite

Arounds îles de Lérins

Cannes - Mandelieu - Nice - Antibes Juan les Pins - Côte d'Azur - Grasse - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Other cities in Provence - Autre monastère célèbre : Mont Saint Michel

Provence
Français / English

Les îles de Lérins

Des îles en face de Cannes

Iles de LérinsLes îles de Lérins sont situées face à la commune de Cannes, dont elles font partie administrativement. Elles forment un archipel composé de l'île Sainte-Marguerite (la plus grande), l'île Saint-Honorat (propriété d'un monastère), et les îlots de la Tradelière et de Saint-Ferréol, tous deux inhabités.

Île Sainte-Marguerite

Île Sainte MargueriteL'île Sainte-Marguerite est à un peu plus d'un kilomètre du continent, elle s'étend d'ouest en est sur une longueur de 3 km, et sa largeur est de 900 m environ. On y trouve de très beaux bois d'eucalyptus, les plus anciens d'Europe, et de pins. La majorité de l'île est couverte par la forêt, domaine protégé appartenant à l'Etat ; c'est la deuxième forêt la plus visitée de France.
En plus de cette magnifique forêt, vous aurez sans doute à coeur de visiter le fort de Sainte-Marguerite. Bâti par Richelieu, il a été renforcé par Vauban et a servi de prison d'état. Il accueille désormais le Musée de la Mer, présentant des collections d'archéologie sous-marine.
Mais son attrait touristique vient également de ce que l'on peut y visiter la cellule du Masque de fer. En effet, en 1687, le fort de Sainte-Marguerite reçoit le fameux prisonnier... qui portait sans doute un simple masque de velours. L'identité du prisonnier n'a jamais été établie, et les légendes, suppositions, ou de très sérieux travaux d'historiens ont évoqués tour à tour un frère adultérin de Louis XIV, un secrétaire du duc de Mantoue, un complice de l'empoisonneuse la Brinvilliers, Fouquet, un espion italien, etc. Le Masque de Fer est décédé en 1703 à la Bastille, et son identité est très probablement définitivement perdue.

Pour rejoindre l'île Sainte-Marguerite
Renseignements et Départs • Billetterie
Port de Cannes, quai Laubeuf
TEL : 04 92 98 71 31
croisieres@riviera-lines.com

Île Saint-Honorat

Ile Saint HonoratL’île Saint-Honorat est la plus éloignée de la côte et la plus petite des deux îles. Longue de 1 500 m, large de 400 m, elle présente une côte basse moins accueillante que l'île Sainte-Marguerite, dont elle est séparée par un étroit chenal dit : "plateau du Milieu". Elle est boisée de pins maritimes et de superbes pins parasols.
L'île Saint-Honorat perpétue le souvenir d'Honorat d'Arles (saint Honorat). A la fin du IVe siècle, saint Honorat, recherchant la solitude, se fixe dans une des deux îles "Lerinas" mais sa retraite est connue et les disciples accourent. Résigné, le saint fonde un monastère qui comptera parmi les plus illustres et les plus puissants de la chrétienté. Aujourd'hui, l'île est toujours la propriété des moines.
Au sud de l'île, vous découvrirez une forteresse, bâtie en 1073 pour protéger les moines des pirates sarrasins. Du XVe siècle jusqu'en 1788, les religieux y vécurent d'une façon permanente et y subirent de nombreuses attaques. De la plate-forme, garnie de créneaux et mâchicoulis, située au sommet du vieux donjon, la vue s'étend sur les îles de Lérins et sur la côte, de l'Esterel jusqu'au cap d'Antibes et à l'arrière-plan, la chaîne alpine.
Le monastère de nos jours attire de nombreux pèlerins ou retraitants. Dans le jardin du cloître sont groupés des fragments lapidaires romains et chrétiens retrouvés dans l'île. Le vieux cloître, dont les murs datent en partie du VIIe s. et les voûtes en berceau du Xe siècle, est un des plus anciens de ce genre en Occident. Sur la galerie est s'ouvre, par une porte basse en plein cintre, la salle capitulaire voûtée d'ogives et, adossée à la galerie Sud, une autre salle de même style qui sert de réfectoire aux moines. La toile au fond de la pièce représente la Cène a été exécutée en 1900 par Pita.

Pour rejoindre l’île Saint Honorat
Société PLANARIA
TEL : 04 92 98 71 38
Quai des îles - port de Cannes – direction La Bocca par bord de mer en face l'hotel sofitel.

Abbaye Notre Dame de Lérins
Ile St Honorat BP 157 06406 Cannes cedex
TEL : 04 92 99 54 00
info@abbayedelerins.com
Site inernet : http://www.abbayedelerins.com

Photographies des îles de Lérins

Monastère fortifié à Saint Honorat Chapelle à Saint Honorat La côte à Sainte Marguerite

Autour des îles de Lérins

Cannes - Mandelieu - Nice - Antibes Juan les Pins - Côte d'Azur - Grasse - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Autres villes de Provence - Autre monastère célèbre : Le Mont Saint Michel