Provence
Français / English

Ile du Levant

Nature and naturism

Ile du LevantThe Levant Island is located off of the department of Var, in the face of the cornice of the Moors in the Mediterranean. It is the easternmost islands of Hyères (also known as Gold islands) and is adjacent to the island of Port-Cros. Like other islands of Hyères, the island of Levant is part of the territory of the town of Hyeres.

Its size is almost equal to that of Porquerolles, the island of Levant presents itself on a long rocky ridge 8 km long and only 1 km wide but only a tenth of the island is accessible to the public.

L'île du Levant - la côteIn 1931 was created by Drs Gaston and Andre Durville the naturist area of Heliopolis, an early naturist centres of Europe on an island. Naturism it is perfectly free, with only a few restrictions in public places, on the Port and the Place du Village. However, it is mandatory to the beach. In respect and mutual tolerance, Levantins hope to bring to naturism visitors who came to admire this exceptional site. There is everything on the Isle of Levant for a comfortable stay : hotels, restaurants, furnished, disco, campsites and shops.

Apart from Heliopolis, the other part of the island (80%), separated by a high fence, belongs to the army and serves as a test center for missile launches for the General Delegation for Armament. There is the Lighthouse Titan.

Around the île du Levant

Toulon - Giens - Porquerolles - Port-Cros - Côte d'Azur - Carqueiranne - Le Lavandou - Bormes les Mimosas - Bandol - Cavalaire - Ramatuelle - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages -

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Ile du Levant

Nature et naturisme

Ile du LevantL'île du Levant est située au large du département du Var, face à la corniche des Maures en Méditerranée. Elle est la plus orientale des îles d'Hyères (appelées aussi les îles d'Or) et est voisine de l'île de Port-Cros. Comme les autres îles d'Hyères, l'île du Levant fait partie du territoire de la commune d'Hyères.

De taille pratiquement égale à celle de Porquerolles, l'île du Levant se présente sur une longue arête rocheuse de 8 km de long et seulement 1 km de large mais seul un dixième de l'île est accessible au public.

L'île du Levant - la côteEn 1931 fut créé par les docteurs Gaston et André Durville le Domaine Naturiste d'Héliopolis, un des premiers centres naturistes d'Europe sur une île. Le naturisme y est parfaitement libre, avec seulement quelques restrictions dans les lieux publics, sur le Port et la Place du Village. En revanche, il est obligatoire à la plage des Grottes et sur les bords de mer. Dans un respect et une tolérance mutuels, les Levantins espèrent ainsi amener au naturisme les visiteurs venus admirer ce site exceptionnel. Il y a tout sur l’Île du Levant pour un séjour confortable : Hôtels, restaurants, meublés, discothèque, campings et commerces.

En dehors d'Héliopolis, l'autre partie de l'île (80 %), séparée par une haute clôture, appartient à l'armée et sert de centre d'essai pour les lancements de missiles pour le compte de la Délégation générale pour l'Armement. On y trouve le Phare du Titan.

Autour de l'île du Levant

Toulon - Giens - Porquerolles - Port-Cros - Côte d'Azur - Carqueiranne - Le Lavandou - Bormes les Mimosas - Bandol - Cavalaire - Ramatuelle - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages -

Autres villes de Provence