Provence
Français / English

Grasse

The world capital of perfume

Grasse - Statue de FragonardGrasse, the perfume capital of the world, is the fifth city in the Alpes-Maritimes in terms of population.
In the Middle Ages, Grasse specializes in leather tanning, but the leather smells bad, something that does not like the nobility wearing gloves in this matter. It Molinard, a tanner who had the Grasse create leather gloves fragrant. It offers a pair to Catherine de Medicis who is seduced by the gift. Since then, the product is spreading to the Court and the High Society and brings to Grasse a worldwide reputation.

The scent of the rare countries of Grasse (lavender, myrtle, jasmine, pink, orange blossom wild mimosa) did win the city the title of world capital of perfume. The jasmine was there are still a few decades labor important flowers should be picked by hand at dawn, when their perfume is the most developed, to be dealt with immediately by cold maceration. Today, if the traditional perfumers (Fragonard, Galimard and Molinard) produce perfume mainly for tourism, large modern factories specialize in herbs and fragrances industry (Robertet, Arthes, Charabot, Mane). The perfumes are inevitable in a visit to Grasse!

Three perfumers, Fragonard, Galimard and Molinard open their doors to the public and offer free guided tours to explain the process of manufacture of perfume. It is possible to create your own perfume or eau de toilette and participate in all stages of its manufacture from picking flowers to put in a vial of perfume.

Not to be missed either during the visit of Grasse, the Fragonard Museum. This museum dedicated to the famous painter, created at the initiative of Francis Carnot with the help of his company Fragonard, wanted to be the regional museum, which lacked the Eastern Provence. The Hotel Clapier-Cabris, vandalized and devastated for a century was patiently and methodically renovated and filled with treasures miles by many contributors enthusiastic. Inaugurated in 1921, the museum, despite its name, not n'exposa canvas by Jean-Honore Fragonard for over twenty years. Today, he owns thirteen of the most varied.

Pictures of Grasse

Grasse Grasse - Palais des Congrès Grasse - centre ville Rue principale Place Rue à Grasse Grasse - place Grasse

Around Grasse

Antibes Juan les Pins - Cannes - Mandelieu - Nice - Iles de Lérins - Fréjus - Les calanques - Les gorges du Verdon - Draguignan - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Grasse

La capitale mondiale des parfums

Grasse - Statue de FragonardGrasse, capitale mondiale du parfum, est la cinquième ville des Alpes-Maritimes en terme de population.
Au Moyen Age, Grasse se spécialise dans le tannage du cuir ; mais le cuir sent mauvais, chose qui ne plait pas à la noblesse qui porte des gants en cette matière. C’est Molinard, tanneur à Grasse qui a l’idée de créer des gants en cuir parfumé. Il en offre une paire à Catherine de Médicis qui est séduite par le cadeau. Dés lors, le produit se répand à la Cour et dans la Haute Société et apporte à Grasse une réputation mondiale.

Les senteurs rares du pays de Grasse (lavande, myrte, jasmin, rose, fleur d'oranger sauvage, mimosa) firent gagner à la ville le titre de capitale mondiale du parfum. Le jasmin occupait il y a encore quelques décennies une main d'œuvre importante : les fleurs devaient être cueillies à la main au lever du jour, au moment où leur parfum est le plus développé, pour être traitées immédiatement par enfleurage à froid. Aujourd’hui, si les parfumeurs traditionnels (Fragonard, Galimard et Molinard) produisent du parfum principalement pour le tourisme, de grandes usines modernes se spécialisent dans les aromates et parfums industriels (Robertet, Arthes, Charabot, Mane). Les parfumeries sont donc incontournables dans une visite de Grasse!

Trois parfumeurs, Fragonard, Galimard et Molinard ouvrent leurs portes au public et proposent des visites guidées gratuites afin d'expliquer les procédés de fabrication du parfum. Il y est possible de créer soi-même son parfum ou son eau de toilette et de participer à toute les étapes de sa fabrication allant du ramassage de fleurs à la mise en flacon du parfum.

A ne pas manquer non plus lors de la visite de Grasse, le Musée Fragonard. Ce musée consacré au célèbre peintre, créé à l'initiative de François Carnot avec l'aide de sa Société Fragonard, se voulait être le musée régional qui manquait à la Provence orientale. L'hôtel Clapier-Cabris, vandalisé et dévasté pendant un siècle fut patiemment et méthodiquement rénové, puis rempli de mille trésors par de nombreux contributeurs enthousiastes. Inauguré en 1921, le musée, malgré son nom, n'exposa pas de toile de Jean-Honoré Fragonard durant plus de vingt ans. Aujourd'hui, il en possède treize des plus variés.

Photographies de Grasse

Grasse Grasse - Palais des Congrès Grasse - centre ville Rue principale Place Rue à Grasse Grasse - place Grasse

Autour de Grasse

Antibes Juan les Pins - Cannes - Mandelieu - Nice - Iles de Lérins - Fréjus - Les calanques - Les gorges du Verdon - Draguignan - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Autres villes de Provence