Provence
Français / English

Gordes

One of the most beautiful villages of France, in the Luberon

GordesOriented to the south and influenced by the Mistral that blows almost one third of the year in the Vaucluse, Gordes enjoys an exceptional climate with about 300 days of sunshine per year. But only one of the reasons that make Gordes one of the most visited villages of the Regional Natural Park of the Luberon.

Located halfway between Cavaillon and Saint-Saturnin-lès-Apt, Gordes, beautiful village perched, is ranked among the most beautiful villages of France thanks to its rich and varied heritage: two abbeys, several mills and water and wind several hundred huts or dry stone Bories.

Landscapes around Gordes

Gordes, dans le LuberonGordes is one of the most common areas of the region with 4 804 hectares. The north of the town is formed by the mountains of Vaucluse. That is the culmination of the town at 635 metres altitude, near the "Pouraque" and "Three terms". The south of the town is composed of the plain of Calavon (also called "North Luberon Valley") and hills of the sector said the "Garrigue" where is the lowest point of the town.

The village of Gordes lies on a limestone promontory of the Vaucluse mountains, overlooking the plain of Calavon of 120 meters to 370 meters high above sea level. The Vaucluse mountains are known to be rich in water (Fontaine-de-Vaucluse lies a few kilometres west only), as several rivers roam the town, both surface and underground. The Sénancole, west of the town, is causing the siting of the Senanque Abbey.

Tourism in Gordes

Palais Saint FirminWith nine hotels (including several four-star), many houses (covering all price ranges), several Real Estate Agencies making the seasonal rentals, lodges and camping, Gordes is ready to receive Tourists who arrive en masse when the weather. It must be said that Gordes is not without strengths.

The first quality of Gordes is without doubt his desire to control the nearest town planning. The construction standards are very strict over the town. The stone is everywhere and any new construction must adhere to the traditional implementation in addition to bury power lines and telephone. This obligation to build a stone, like the use of tile for roofs, the strong limitation of height, the fulfilment of certain seismic building standards, give a stamp Gordes copy.

The monument marking the most Gordes of the castle which remains the most visible part is Renaissance. Built in the village centre, this imposing building, rebuilt in 1525, was classified a historical monument on July 4, 1931 and currently houses a museum devoted to painting Pol Mara, Belgian artist and the tourist office.

Rue en caladeGoing down to the lookout, stands the church of Saint-Firmin built on the foundations of an ancient church in the thirteenth century and dedicated to St Firmin. The square tower, which probably dates from the fourteenth century, serves as a bell tower and has the distinction of having an outside staircase to nowhere, proof that another building was once attached to him. In addition, accessible through the streets of the oven, Palais Saint-Firmin, gardens and cellars (troglodytes halls, stairs underground oil mills) are listed in the inventory of historical monuments since March 4, 1998.

Several streets in calade (paved with stones) leave this place south of the castle to join the remains of ancient fortifications whose Porte de Savoie, Hotel and Pluvinal chapel, the house Andre Lhote, whose facades are included in the 'inventory of historical monuments, and chaplaincy Saint-Jacques. Further down, at the foot of the village in the district called "Fontaine low," there are old wash, a mill and several ancient chapels whose chapel at the bottom, "carved in the rock.

Les boriesUnder the new name of "Village des Bories" exists, 3 km west of Gordes, a former group of huts drystone oriented farming and use mainly seasonal, formed last three decades in open-air museum. It is reached by a path lined with oak and stone walls and having its point of origin on the road No. 2, from Cavaillon / Imberts, just before reaching the neck of Gordes. Called simply "shacks" in the Napoleonic cadastre, buildings have taken the name of scholarly "Bories" that during the second half of the twentieth century.

Abbaye de SenanqueIn a valley to the west of Gordes, bordering the Sénancole who gave his name is the famous Cistercian abbey of Senanque, founded on June 23, 1148 at the initiative of the bishop of Cavaillon by monks Cistercians from Mazan-l'Abbaye in the Ardeche.
The abbey is a listed monument since April 10, 1921 and annually attracts a considerable number of visitors.

Pictures of Gordes

Gordes, village perché, dans le Vaucluse Village des bories Les rues de Gordes

Around Gordes

Manosque - Lourmarin - Cavaillon - Apt - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Luberon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Abbaye de Sénanque - Sisteron - Le Thor

Provence
Français / English

Gordes

Un des plus beaux villages de France, dans le Luberon

GordesOrienté au sud et subissant les effets du Mistral qui souffle presque un tiers de l'année dans le Vaucluse, Gordes bénéficie d'un climat exceptionnel avec environ 300 jours d'ensoleillement par an. Mais c'est seulement une des raisons qui font de Gordes un des villages les plus visités du Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon.

Situé à mi-chemin entre Cavaillon et Saint-Saturnin-lès-Apt, Gordes, magnifique village perché, est classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France grâce à son patrimoine riche et varié : deux abbayes, plusieurs moulins à eau et à vent et plusieurs centaines de cabanes en pierre sèche ou bories.

Les paysages de Gordes

Gordes, dans le LuberonGordes est une des communes les plus étendues de la région avec 4 804 hectares. Le nord de la commune est formé par les monts de Vaucluse. C'est là que se situe le point culminant de la commune à 635 mètres d'altitude, à proximité de la "Pouraque" et des 'Trois Termes'. Le sud de la commune est formé de la plaine du Calavon (dite aussi « vallée Nord Luberon ») et des collines du secteur dit de la "Garrigue" où se trouve le point le plus bas de la commune.

Le village de Gordes se trouve sur un promontoire calcaire des monts de Vaucluse, dominant la plaine du Calavon de 120 mètres en culminant à 370 mètres d'altitude. Les monts de Vaucluse sont connus pour être riches en eau (Fontaine-de-Vaucluse se trouve à quelques kilomètres à l'ouest seulement), aussi plusieurs cours d'eau parcourent la commune, aussi bien en surface que sous terre. La Sénancole, située à l'ouest de la commune, est à l'origine du choix du lieu d'implantation de l'abbaye de Sénanque.

Tourisme à Gordes

Palais Saint FirminAvec neuf hôtels (dont plusieurs quatre étoiles), de très nombreuses chambres d'hôtes (couvrant l'ensemble des gammes de prix), plusieurs agences immobilières faisant de la location saisonnière, des gîtes et un camping, Gordes est paré pour recevoir les touristes qui arrivent en masse dès les beaux jours. Il faut dire que Gordes ne manque pas d'atouts.

La première qualité de Gordes est sans conteste sa volonté de maîtriser au plus près l'urbanisme. Les normes de construction sont très strictes sur l'ensemble de la commune. La pierre est omniprésente et toute nouvelle construction doit en respecter la mise en œuvre traditionnelle en plus d'enterrer les lignes électriques et téléphoniques. Cette obligation de construire en pierre, tout comme l'utilisation de tuiles canal pour les toits, la forte limitation de la hauteur, le respect de certaines normes de construction parasismique, donnent à Gordes un cachet exemplaire.

Le monument le plus marquant de Gordes demeure le château dont la partie la plus visible est de style Renaissance. Érigé au centre du village, cet imposant édifice, reconstruit en 1525, a été classé monument historique le 4 juillet 1931 et abrite actuellement un musée de peinture consacré à Pol Mara, artiste belge, ainsi que l'office de tourisme.

Rue en caladeEn descendant vers le belvédère, se tient l'église Saint-Firmin construite sur les bases d'une ancienne église du XIIIe siècle, et consacrée à saint Firmin. La tour carrée, qui date probablement du XIVe siècle, sert de clocher et présente la particularité d'avoir un escalier extérieur qui ne mène nulle part, preuve qu'un autre bâtiment lui était autrefois accolé. A côté, accessible par la rue du four, le Palais Saint-Firmin, ses jardins et ses caves (salles troglodytes, escaliers souterrains, moulins à huile) sont inscrits à l'inventaire des monuments historiques depuis le 4 mars 1998.

Plusieurs rues en calade (pavées de pierres) partent de cette place au sud du château pour rejoindre les restes des anciennes fortifications dont la Porte de Savoie, l'Hôtel et la chapelle Pluvinal, la maison André Lhote, dont les façades sont inscrites à l'inventaire des monuments historiques, et l'aumônerie Saint-Jacques. Plus bas, au pied du village, dans le quartier dit de "Fontaine basse", se trouvent des anciens lavoirs, un moulin et plusieurs anciennes chapelles dont la "chapelle d'en bas", creusée dans le roc.

Les boriesSous le nom récent de "Village des bories" existe, à 3 km à l'ouest de Gordes, un ancien groupement de cabanes en pierre sèche à vocation agricole et à usage principalement saisonnier, constitué depuis trois décennies en musée de plein air. On y accède par un chemin bordé de chênes et de murs de pierre et ayant son point d'origine sur la route départementale n° 2, en venant de Cavaillon / les Imberts, juste avant d'arriver au col de Gordes. Appelées simplement "cabanes" dans le cadastre napoléonien, les bâtiments n'ont pris l'appellation érudite de "bories" que durant la deuxième moitié du XXe siècle.

Abbaye de SenanqueDans un vallon à l'ouest du Gordes, au bord de la Sénancole qui lui a donné son nom, se trouve la très renommée abbaye cistercienne de Sénanque, fondée le 23 juin 1148 à l'initiative de l'évêque de Cavaillon par des moines cisterciens venant de Mazan-l'Abbaye dans l'Ardèche. L'abbaye est classée monument historique depuis le 10 avril 1921 et attire chaque année un nombre considérable de visiteurs.

Photographies de Gordes

Gordes, village perché, dans le Vaucluse Village des bories Les rues de Gordes

Autour de Gordes

Manosque - Lourmarin - Cavaillon - Apt - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Luberon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Abbaye de Sénanque - Sisteron - Le Thor