Provence
Français / English

Fréjus

Remarkable ancient remains

Blason FréjusDuring the "War of Gaul", Julius Caesar noticed the position of the city and did undertake major projects including the creation of a market that was then called Forum Julii. The name of the market eventually cover the whole city and, by successive transformations (Forum Julii, Frejuls, Frejus), gave the present name.

The emperor Augustus gave great importance to Frejus, including establishing the Colonia Octaviorum (a kind of "retirement home" veterans of the eighth legion) and even enlarging the port, where he installed vessels Marc-Antoine caught Actium. Forum Julii became a naval bases of the military fleet Roman Mediterranean. From this reign date the construction of all major equipment that still remains today: amphitheatre, water, lighthouse, spas, etc..

Fréjus is classified as "city of art and history." The city is it the quality of the remains that were discovered. The amphitheatre-shaped ellipse, built in the 1st century, measured 113 meters long and 85 meters wide. It could contain between 10 000 and 12 000 spectators. The amphitheatre of Frejus is a small device constructed of sandstone Green fired a career close. Its central arena measure 68 metres by 39. This building is historic monument since 1840.

Arches de l'aqueduc de FréjusThe aqueduct, built in the 1st century, providing water for the town of Frejus. With a length of approximately 40 km, most of its route was underground. The arches that remain in our time have been classified a historical monument in 1886.

Finally, the Episcopal group, comprising, in addition to the Cathedral Sainte Léonce, a former Episcopal palace (the Tour Riculphe), a baptistery (among the oldest in France), and a cloister with a room is now reserved for municipal archaeological museum.

This is not forgotten in Frejus, as the city shows a particular dynamism which makes it one of the largest cities of Var. In addition to a downtown pleasant and elegant, Fréjus has a very impressive leisure base of 120 hectares, located on the seafront, which represents the largest public park in the east Varois.

Finally, remember that on 2 December 1959, the city was dramatically affected by the disaster resulting from the breakdown of the dam of Malpasset, who made more than 400 dead. The city was assisted by issuing a stamp surcharge, Marianne the nave overloaded.

Pictures of FREJUS

Amphithéâtre de Fréjus Le centre de Fréjus Place Formigé Palais épiscopal (Tour Riculphe) Centre ville Porte d'Orée Rue dans Fréjus Cathédrale Sainte Léonce

Around FREJUS

Saint Raphaël - Sainte Maxime - Saint Tropez - Cannes - Nice - Bormes les Mimosas - Giens - Grimaud - Draguignan - Lorgues - Antibes Juan les Pins - Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Fréjus

De remarquables vestiges antiques

Blason FréjusLors de la guerre des Gaules, Jules César remarqua la position de la ville et y fit entreprendre de grands travaux dont la création d'un marché qui fut ensuite appelé Forum Julii. Le nom du marché finit par s'étendre à la ville entière et, par transformations successives (Forum Julii, Frejuls, Fréjus), a donné la dénomination actuelle.
L'empereur Auguste accorda une grande importance à Fréjus, y établissant la Colonia Octaviorum (sorte de « maison de retraite » des vétérans de la huitième légion) et agrandissant encore le port, où il installa les navires de Marc-Antoine capturés à Actium. Forum Julii devint ainsi une des bases navales de la flotte militaire romaine de Méditerranée. De ce règne date la construction de tous les grands équipements dont subsistent aujourd'hui les vestiges : amphithéâtre, aqueduc, phare, thermes, etc.

Fréjus est classée "ville d'art et d'histoire". La cité doit cela à la qualité des vestiges que l'on y découvre. Son amphithéâtre en forme d'ellipse, construit au 1er siècle, mesurait 113 mètres de long pour 85 mètres de larges. Il pouvait contenir entre 10 000 et 12 000 spectateurs. L'amphithéâtre de Fréjus est construit en petit appareil de grès vert, tiré d'une carrière proche. Son arène centrale mesure 68 mètres sur 39. Cet édifice est classé monument historique depuis 1840.

Arches de l'aqueduc de FréjusL'aqueduc, également construit au 1er siècle, fournissait l'eau nécessaire à la ville de Fréjus. D'une longueur approximative de 40 Km, la plus grande partie de son tracé était souterraine. Les arches qui subsistent à notre époque ont été classées monument historique en 1886.

Signalons enfin le groupe épiscopal, comprenant outre la cathédrale Sainte Léonce, un ancien palais épiscopal (la Tour Riculphe), un baptistère (parmi les plus ancien de France), et un cloître dont une des salles est désormais réservée au musée archéologique municipal.

Le présent n'est pas oublié à Fréjus, puisque la ville montre un dynamisme tout particulier qui fait d'elle une des villes les plus importantes du Var. Outre un centre ville agréable et élégant, Fréjus s'est dotée d'une très imposante base de loisirs de 120 hectares, située en bord de mer, et qui représente le plus grand parc naturel public de l'est Varois.

Rappelons enfin que, le 2 décembre 1959, la ville fut dramatiquement touchée par la catastrophe consécutive à la rupture du barrage de Malpasset, qui fit plus de 400 morts. La ville fut aidée par l'émission d'un timbre à surtaxe, la Marianne à la nef surchargée.

Photographies de FREJUS

Amphithéâtre de Fréjus Le centre de Fréjus Place Formigé Palais épiscopal (Tour Riculphe) Centre ville Porte d'Orée Rue dans Fréjus Cathédrale Sainte Léonce

Autour de FREJUS

Saint Raphaël - Sainte Maxime - Saint Tropez - Cannes - Nice - Bormes les Mimosas - Giens - Grimaud - Draguignan - Lorgues - Antibes Juan les Pins - Vallauris Golfe-Juan

Autres villes de Provence