Provence
Français / English

Fontaine de Vaucluse

The greatest source of Provence

Fontaine de VaucluseIt could translate the name Fontaine-de-Vaucluse in "the fountain of the valley close." It is at the bottom of a valley in cul-de-sac at the foot of a huge cliff 230 meters, that arises mysteriously one of the most famous Provence, and who will give birth to Sorgue. Fontaine-de-Vaucluse is built Around this famous source, and this small village of 600 inhabitants, who simply called Vaucluse, gave his name to an entire department.
It must be said that it has been known since antiquity, Petrarch himself referring to, and that its source is the subject of a major worship since these distant time.

This water has played a leading role in the economy Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. Using its strength, paper mills have emerged in the fifteenth century. A jewel of local industry, stationery assured long prosperity of the place before being overtaken by modernity and replaced locally for the benefit of tourism and handicrafts.

Château de Fontaine-de-VaucluseThe Fontaine de Vaucluse is the source of Sorgue, its average flow is 22 m3/seconde and may reach 110 m3 per second at snowmelt. It was not until 1985 that is partially lifted the mystery of its origin: indeed, the lowest point at -308 metres deep has been reached by that date by a robot of the Society of speleological Fountain Vaucluse. The source is the main point of exit from a subterranean basin of 1100 square kilometres recovering waters of Mount Ventoux, Vaucluse mountains and the mountains of Lure.

In Fontaine-de-Vaucluse, you can also visit the church of Notre-Dame and Saint Véran, Roman-style Provencal whose crypt contains the tomb of Saint Véran. See also a viaduct, the ruins of the castle of Bishops of Cavaillon, or the remains of a Roman canal built along the left bank of the Sorgue. During your walks or hikes, you will also have the opportunity to see Bories, these dry stone huts typical of Provence.

La Fontaine de Vaucluse is the largest source of France. It is also ranked the fifth largest in the world with an annual water flow of 630 million cubic meters. This resurgence is in hydrogeology reference to the characterization of a type known as "source vauclusienne."

Pictures of Fontaine de Vaucluse

Fontaine de Vaucluse La Fontaine de Vaucluse, source de la Sorgue Moulin sur la Sorgue

Around Fontaine de Vaucluse

L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue - Gordes - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Lourmarin - Avignon - Cavaillon - Apt - Carpentras - Manosque - Luberon - Abbaye de Sénanque - Le Thor

Provence
Français / English

Fontaine de Vaucluse

La plus belle source de Provence

Fontaine de VaucluseOn pourrait traduire le nom de Fontaine-de-Vaucluse par "la fontaine de la vallée close". C'est en effet au fond d'une vallée en cul-de-sac, au pied d'une énorme falaise de 230 mètres, que surgit mystérieusement une des sources les plus célèbres de Provence, et qui va donner naissance à la Sorgue. Fontaine-de-Vaucluse est batie autour de cette célèbre source, et ce petit village de 600 habitants qui s'appelait autrefois simplement Vaucluse, a donné son nom à tout un département.
Il faut dire qu'il est connu depuis l'antiquité, Pétrarque lui même en faisant mention, et que sa source est l'objet d'un culte majeur depuis ces temps lointains.

Cette eau a jouée un rôle primordial pour l’économie de Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. En utilisant sa force, des moulins à papier ont fait leur apparition au XVe siècle. Fleuron de l'industrie locale, la papeterie assura longtemps la prospérité du lieu avant d’être dépassé par la modernité et remplacé localement au profit du tourisme et de l'artisanat.

Château de Fontaine-de-VaucluseLa Fontaine de Vaucluse est la source de la Sorgue, son débit moyen est de 22 m3/seconde et peut atteindre 110 m3 par seconde à la fonte des neiges. Il a fallu attendre 1985 pour que soit levé partiellement le mystère de son origine : en effet, le point le plus bas à -308 mètres de profondeur n'a été atteint qu'à cette date par un robot de la Société spéléologique de Fontaine de Vaucluse. La source est le principal point de sortie d'un bassin souterrain de 1100 km² récupérant les eaux du mont Ventoux, des monts de Vaucluse et de la montagne de Lure.

A Fontaine-de-Vaucluse, vous pourrez également visiter l’église Notre-Dame et Saint Véran de style roman provençal dont la crypte abrite le tombeau de Saint Véran. A voir également un viaduc, les ruines du château des Evêques de Cavaillon, ou les vestiges d’un canal romain construit le long de la rive gauche de la Sorgue. Lors de vos promenades ou randonnées, vous aurez aussi l'occasion de voir des bories, ces cabanes de pierres sèches typique de la Provence.

La Fontaine de Vaucluse est la plus grosse source de France. Elle est aussi classée cinquième au rang mondial avec un débit d'eau annuel de 630 millions de mètres cubes. Cette résurgence sert en hydrogéologie de référence pour la caractérisation d'un type appelé "source vauclusienne".

Photographies de Fontaine de Vaucluse

Fontaine de Vaucluse La Fontaine de Vaucluse, source de la Sorgue Moulin sur la Sorgue

Autour de Fontaine de Vaucluse

L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue - Gordes - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Lourmarin - Avignon - Cavaillon - Apt - Carpentras - Manosque - Luberon - Abbaye de Sénanque - Le Thor