Provence
Français / English

Les Dentelles de Montmirail

Hiking and climbing

Dentelles de MontmirailThe Dentelles de Montmirail are a chain of mountains of massive Baronnies, in Provence, in the Vaucluse department. They are located south of Vaison-la-Romaine and west of Mont Ventoux. The name "lace" is of course the form obtained by the erosion of rock. As for "Montmirail", it comes from the latin "mons mirabilis" which means "Mountain admirable".

The culmination of the Dentelles de Montmirail is the crest of Saint-Amand, high of 730 metres. The chain, which is about eight kilometers long, is deemed to climbing or hiking. For climbing, more than 600 routes are upgraded in the chain of lace, for hiking, it will include the GR4. Altogether 40 kilometers of trails crisscross the Dentelles de Montmirail, mainly over the town of Gigondas.

The vegetation of the Dentelles de Montmirail is comparable to that of Alpilles on several points, there are herbs, wood oaks and pines of Aleppo, and so on.

The soil resulting from the troubled landscape of the Dentelles de Montmirail are structured soils and unique. The vine is present on the slopes of the most common and can produce wines of great reputation (Beaumes-de-Venise, Gigondas and Vacqueyras).

The most famous places of the Dentelles de Montmirail are Sarrasines Lace and the Grand Montmirail (place with a sulphurous source), the crest of the Salle, the crest of the ridge and Cayron Saint-Amandle, but also the neck of Alsau and Pass Cayron, Ambrosi Cave and the rock du Midi

Pictures ofs Dentelles de Montmirail

Dentelles de Montmirail Un paysage impressionant Dentelles Sarrazines

Arounds Dentelles de Montmirail

Le Mont Ventoux - Vaison la Romaine - Orange - Avignon - Carpentras

Other villages in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Les Dentelles de Montmirail

Randonnées et escalade

Dentelles de MontmirailLes Dentelles de Montmirail sont une chaîne de montagnes du massif des Baronnies, en Provence, dans le département de Vaucluse. Elles sont situées au sud de Vaison-la-Romaine et à l'ouest du Mont Ventoux. Le nom de "dentelles" vient bien entendu de la forme obtenue par l'érosion de la roche. Quant à "Montmirail", cela vient du latin "mons mirabilis" qui signifie "mont admirable"

Le point culminant des Dentelles de Montmirail est la crête de Saint-Amand, haute de 730 mètres. La chaîne, qui fait environ huit kilomètres de long, est reputée pour l'escalade ou la randonnée. Pour l'escalade, plus de 600 voies sont aménagées dans la chaîne des Dentelles, quant à la randonnée pédestre, elle se fera notamment sur le GR4. En tout 40 kilomètres de sentiers pédestres sillonnent les Dentelles de Montmirail, essentiellement répartis sur la commune de Gigondas.

La végétation des Dentelles de Montmirail est comparable à celle des Alpilles sur plusieurs points, on y retrouve plantes aromatiques, bois de chênes verts et pins d'Alep, etc.

Les sols qui découlent du paysage tourmenté des Dentelles de Montmirail constituent des terroirs structurés et uniques. La vigne y est présente sur les coteaux de la plupart des communes et permet de produire des vins de grande réputation (Beaumes-de-Venise, Gigondas ou Vacqueyras).

Les lieux les plus célèbres des Dentelles de Montmirail sont les Dentelles Sarrasines et le Grand Montmirail (lieu ayant une source sulfureuse), la crête de la Salle, la crête de Cayron et la crête Saint-Amandle, mais aussi le col d’Alsau et le col de Cayron, la Grotte d’Ambrosi et enfin le rocher du Midi.

Photographies des Dentelles de Montmirail

Dentelles de Montmirail Un paysage impressionant Dentelles Sarrazines

Autour des Dentelles de Montmirail

Le Mont Ventoux - Vaison la Romaine - Orange - Avignon - Carpentras

Autres villages de Provence