Provence
Français / English

Carpentras

The capital of the Comtat Venaissin

Blason de CarpentrasLocated in the department of Vaucluse, front of the Mont Ventoux and the Dentelles de Montmirail, the city of Carpentras is the capital of the Comtat Venaissin, a former county which also includes the towns of Cavaillon and Vaison-la-Romaine.

The Comtat Venaissin is known for its beautiful landscapes but despite its important tourist attraction, he kept a specific character, thanks to low industrialization of the region.

The products of Carpentras

TruffesAt the heart of Provence, Carpentras is known to be a city market where already five centuries before Jesus Christ, the Greeks came to buy number of local produce and local crafts. At the primary gave the truffle markets of Carpentras a solid reputation as the Popes in Avignon were supplying them. Nowadays, the market stands still truffles every Friday morning, November 27 (day of the Fair St. Siffrein) until the end of March. The market is very typical, but a little mysterious, where truffles change hands with the greatest discretion. You will find the same atmosphere of secrecy and perhaps mistrust on the other markets with truffles from Provence, such as that of Aups.

Other famous product of Carpentras, a delicacy based syrup created for a pope named Bertrand de Got. It is precisely the name of the pope who, through transformations succesives, gave this name now famous : the berlingot.

Finally, we can not discuss Carpentras without mentioning the famous "strawberry of Carpentras." Whether the Ciflorette, Gariguette or Pajaro, they are the first French strawberries to appear on our markets. Fans are fans because they have undeniable qualities taste.

Tourism in Carpentras

Carpentras, fontaine en centre villeAncient City, nestled in the heart of Provence, Carpentras is a very beautiful city and has a large number of monuments of great architectural interest. This partrimoine has earned Carpentras be classified "City of Art and History." The efforts of elected officials and people constantly contribute to beautify the city.

Among the most beautiful monuments of Carpentras, best known include :

- The Porte Orange, one of the most famous of the city wall remains of missing today. His aliasing and its machicoulis encorbellement to show that the city had an impressive defense system.
l'Hotel-Dieu de Carpentras- The Hotel-Dieu, built by Bishop of Inguimbert, bishop of Carpentras from 1735 to 1757, with an imposing central staircase and enriched with a superb collection of donatifs (Tables thanking a benefactor). The heart of the Hotel-Dieu remains his "pharmacy" of the 18th century, decorated with beautiful earthenware pots and painted panels.
- The Cathédrale Saint-Siffrein, built between 1405 and 1520, a Gothic architecture, has an interior decorated with beautiful wrought iron grills, tables Duplessis and Mignard, but also an exceptional group of statues by the sculptor Jacques Bernus.
- The Palais de Justice, formerly Episcopal Palace, the 17th century, has a splendid Italianate facade. The interior decorations based murals or carved wooden panels are simply exceptional.
- The Synagogue (14th century) whose worship hall offers a magnificent ensemble recalls that Jews were protected by the popes.
- The Library Inguimbertine, classified library, bequeathed to Carpentras by Bishop of Inguimbert, rich 76000 printed volumes and manuscripts 3000.

The name of the Comtat Venaissin comes from Venasque, its first capital, which succeeded Carpentras in 1320. His neighbours, Avignon and Orange, respectively, formed a Comtat (county) and a separate principality.

Pictures of Carpentras

La Fontaine de l'Ange La Porte d'Orange Cathédrale Saint Siffrein

Around Carpentras

Dentelles de Montmirail - Mont Ventoux - Orange - Avignon - Vaison la Romaine - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Sisteron - Le Thor

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Carpentras

La capitale du Comtat Venaissin

Blason de CarpentrasSituée dans le département du Vaucluse, aux pieds du Mont-Ventoux et des dentelles de Montmirail, la ville de Carpentras est la capitale du Comtat Venaissin, un ancien comté qui comprend également les villes de Cavaillon et Vaison-la-Romaine.

Le Comtat Venaissin est réputé pour la beauté de ses paysages mais malgré son important attrait touristique, il a su garder un caractère spécifique, grâce à la faible industrialisation de la région.

Les produits de Carpentras

TruffesAu coeur de la Provence, Carpentras est connue pour être une ville de marché où déjà, cinq siècles avant Jésus-Christ, les Grecs venaient acheter nombre de produits du terroir ou de l'artisanat local. Au premier chef la truffe conféra aux marchés de Carpentras une solide réputation puisque les Papes d'Avignon venaient s'y approvisionner. De nos jours, le marché aux truffes se tient encore tous les vendredis matin, du 27 novembre (jour de la Foire Saint-Siffrein) jusqu'à la fin mars. C'est un marché très typique, mais un peu mystérieux, où les truffes changent de mains dans la plus grande discrétion. On y retrouve la même atmosphère de secret et peut-être de méfiance que sur les autres marchés aux truffes de Provence, comme par exemple celui d'Aups.

Autre produit célèbre de Carpentras, une friandise à base de sirop créée pour un pape nommé Bertrand de Got. C'est justement le nom de ce pape qui, par transformations succesives, donna ce nom aujourd'hui fameux : le berlingot.

Enfin, on ne peut évoquer Carpentras sans mentionner la célébrissime "fraise de Carpentras". Que ce soit la Ciflorette, la Gariguette ou la Pajaro, elles sont les premières fraises françaises à apparaître sur nos marchés. Les amateurs en sont friands car elles possèdent d'indéniables qualités gustatives.

Tourisme à Carpentras

Carpentras, fontaine en centre villeVille ancienne, blottie au coeur de la Provence, Carpentras est une très belle ville et possède un grand nombre de monuments du plus grand intérêt architectural. Ce partrimoine a d'ailleurs valu à Carpentras d'être classée "Ville d'Art et d'Histoire". Les efforts constants des élus et des habitants concourent à embellir constamment la cité.

Parmi les plus beaux monuments de Carpentras, citons les plus connus :

- La Porte d'Orange, un des lieux les plus connus de la ville, vestige de remparts aujourd'hui disparus. Son crénelage ainsi que ses machicoulis en encorbellement démontrent que la ville possédait un système de défense impressionnant.
l'Hôtel-Dieu de Carpentras- L'Hôtel-Dieu, construite par Monseigneur d'Inguimbert, évêque de Carpentras de 1735 à 1757, dotée d'un imposant escalier central et enrichie d'une superbe collection de donatifs (tableaux remerciant un bienfaiteur). Le coeur de l'Hôtel-Dieu reste cependant sa "pharmacie", du 18e siècle, ornée de magnifiques pots de faïence et de panneaux peints.
- La cathédrale Saint-Siffrein, construite entre 1405 et 1520, d'une architecture gothique, possède un intérieur orné de splendides grilles de fer forgé, de tableaux de Duplessis et Mignard, mais aussi un exceptionnel ensemble de statues du sculpteur Jacques Bernus.
- Le Palais de Justice, anciennement Palais Episcopal, du 17e siècle, possède une splendide façade à l'italienne. Les décorations intérieures à base de peintures murales ou de panneaux de bois sculptés sont tout simplement exceptionnelles.
- La Synagogue (14e siècle) dont la salle de culte offre un magnifique ensemble qui rappelle que les juifs furent ici les protégés des papes.
- La Bibliothèque Inguimbertine, bibliothèque municipale classée, léguée à Carpentras par Monseigneur d’Inguimbert, riche de 76000 volumes imprimés et 3000 manuscrits.

Le nom du Comtat Venaissin vient de Venasque, sa première capitale, à laquelle succéda Carpentras en 1320. Ses voisins, Avignon et Orange formaient respectivement un comtat (comté) et une principauté distincts.

Photographies de Carpentras

La Fontaine de l'Ange La Porte d'Orange Cathédrale Saint Siffrein

Autour de Carpentras

Dentelles de Montmirail - Mont Ventoux - Orange - Avignon - Vaison la Romaine - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Sisteron - Le Thor

Autres villes de Provence