Provence
Français / English

Cannes - the city of cinema

La Croisette, the Stars and Luxury

Cannes - Place du Casino (1910)The city of Cannes is located in the department of Alpes-Maritimes, 36 km from Nice, 55 km from Monaco and 60 km from the Italian border. During the film festival, Cannes population (70 200 inhabitants) exceeds 200 000 inhabitants. .
The main resource of Cannes is tourism. The Palaces, major hotels and shops are very numerous.

The seafront, with the famous Croisette, is a major tourist asset Cannes and the Lerins Islands, off the coast, which are part of the town. But Cannes is also world famous for its International Film Festival, held annually in mid May. The Palais des Festivals has become a mythic place for lovers of cinema, which is hurrying to mass on the Croisette to try to see a star out of Carlton, Martinez, or Majestic ...
Outside the festival palace, which serves also welcomes the MIDEM (International Market Of Music Publishing), and a host of other events throughout the year (international festival of games, the boating, etc..) making it the second largest city congress in France after Paris.

A few words about the International Film Festival:

Le Palais des FestivalsIn 1939, the government decided french instigation of an International Film Festival. The city of Cannes was chosen for his "sunshine and enchanting." The war postponed its first edition. In 1945, the AFAA received new mission to prepare for the following year a festival under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of National Education and, from 1946, National Centre of Cinematography newly created position. Despite the difficulties at the time, the Cannes Film Festival was the first major international cultural event after the war.

Cannes quickly became the most publicized city in the world. It still carries the same power of attraction on a French and foreign clientele fascinated by its aura City star. This intense activity tourist sectors ultra developed the hotel, catering and luxury shops offer, between sea and sun, the most prestigious showcase of luxury french.

With the exception of 1948 and 1950, the festival became an annual appointment, first in September and then, from 1,951 in May. S'affirmant as the preferred meeting place of world cinema, the event acquired a reputation based on the balance between artistic quality of films and their commercial impact.

Pictures of Cannes

Cannes - La Croisette Rue de Cannes Cannes Cannes 2 Cannes 3 Plage de Cannes Carlton - Cannes Cannes 4

Around Cannes

Nice - Mandelieu - Antibes Juan les Pins - Iles de Lérins - Menton - Côte d'Azur - Calanques - Grasse - Marseille - Saint Raphaël - Fréjus - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Cannes - la cité du cinema

La Croisette, les stars et le luxe

Cannes - Place du Casino (1910)La ville de Cannes est située dans le département des Alpes-Maritimes, à 36 km de Nice, 55 km de Monaco et à 60 km de la frontière italienne. Pendant le Festival du film, la population cannoise (70 200 habitants) dépasse les 200 000 habitants. .
La principale ressource de Cannes est le tourisme. Les Palaces, les grands hôtels et les magasins de luxe y abondent.
Le bord de mer, avec la célèbre Croisette, est un atout touristique majeur de Cannes, ainsi que les îles de Lérins, au large de la côte, qui font partie de la commune. Mais Cannes est aussi mondialement connu pour son Festival international du film, se déroulant chaque année mi Mai. Le palais des festivals est devenu un lieu mythique pour les amoureux du cinéma, qui se pressent en masse sur la Croisette pour tenter d'apercevoir une star sortant du Carlton, du Martinez, ou du Majestic...
En dehors de ce festival, le palais qui l'accueille sert aussi au MIDEM (Marché International Des Editions de Musique), ainsi qu'à une foule d'autres manifestations tout au long de l'année (festival international des jeux, de la navigation de plaisance, etc.) ce qui en fait la deuxième ville de congrès en France après Paris.

Quelques mots sur le Festival International du film :

Le Palais des FestivalsEn 1939, le gouvernement français décida l'instigation d'un Festival International du Film. La ville de Cannes fut choisie pour « son ensoleillement et son cadre enchanteur ». La guerre différa sa première édition. En 1945, l’Association française d’action artistique reçut de nouveau la mission de préparer pour l’année suivante un Festival sous l’égide du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du ministère de l’Éducation nationale et, à partir de 1946, du Centre national de la cinématographie nouvellement créé. Malgré les difficultés de l’époque, le Festival de Cannes fut la première grande manifestation culturelle internationale d’après guerre.

Cannes devint rapidement la ville la plus médiatisée du monde. Elle exerce encore aujourd'hui le même pouvoir d’attraction sur une clientèle française et étrangère fascinée par son aura de ville de star. De cette intense activité touristique, les secteurs ultra développés de l’hôtellerie, de la restauration et des commerces de luxe offrent, entre mer et soleil, la plus prestigieuse vitrine du luxe français.

A l’exception de 1948 et 1950, le festival devint un rendez-vous annuel, d’abord en septembre, puis, à partir de 1951, en mai. S’affirmant comme le lieu de rencontre privilégié du cinéma mondial, la manifestation acquit une notoriété se fondant sur l’équilibre entre la qualité artistique des films et leur impact commercial.

Photographies de Cannes

Cannes - La Croisette Rue de Cannes Cannes Cannes 2 Cannes 3 Plage de Cannes Carlton - Cannes Cannes 4

Autour de Cannes

Nice - Mandelieu - Antibes Juan les Pins - Iles de Lérins - Menton - Côte d'Azur - Calanques - Grasse - Marseille - Saint Raphaël - Fréjus - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Autres villes de Provence