Provence
Français / English

Bandol

A seaside resort of international repute

BandolBandol, seaside resort of international fame, and recently Sailing station is located between Toulon and Marseilles. Known as the capital of wine, Bandol became in 1990 the capital of Sailing in the Mediterranean.

Off Bandol, there are still "dolia," terra-cotta barrel-old twenty to twenty-five centuries... In ancient times already, wine Bandol was sold overseas.

The port itself was created to accommodate ships loaded wine in containers which, from the Middle Ages, were marked with a "B".

The city has a marina of 1500 places.

Ranked climate station on July 3, 1923, Bandol has succeeded in developing quality tourism, thanks to its brightness particular, its mild climate, safeguarding natural sites. The Bay of Bandol is now one of the finest jewels of the French Riviera.

Rue de BandolBandol, an authentic seaside resort in the Mediterranean which has been able to draw on its past wealth of its present.

Bandol, which has a casino, is classified seaside resort since July 3, 1923 and the wines of Bandol are AOC since 1941. Bandol also a bandstand built in 1933 by architect Fleury Linossier. The population of 7500 inhabitants in winter and more than 12000 in the summer. The city of Bandol is twinned with the town of Nettuno in Italy, the city of Onex in Switzerland and the city of Wehr-Baden in Germany.

Early History of Bandol

Bandol, a village bordering on the Mediterranean, between Marseilles and Toulon, disappears at the end of antiquity, following the barbarian invasions. The population fled in the villages of the interior, like La Cadière. It was only the beginning of the modern era that Bandol reappears: the Duke of Epernon, at the end of the Wars of Religion, makes a strong build Henri IV in 1596 as a stronghold valiant military Antoine Boyer. The latter is knighted shortly afterwards and his descendants, the family Boyer, creates a village in 1715 with seven pioneering families. Thanks to the famous wines of Bandol (known to the table Louis XV), Bandol is growing strongly and includes 1 200 inhabitants in 1789. In 1790, the priest Jean-Baptiste Gardon was elected mayor with 88% of the vote (unique in Provence). In 1793, opens with a section federalist Bandol, which supports the revolt of Toulon. Its two leaders, the pastor Jonquier and cooper Bartholomew, would then be executed.

Features in Bandol

* The Coastal Trail, a very pleasant promenade along the sea
* The island of Bendor: village, zoo, glass art museum of the sea, museum wines and spirits (6000 bottles from 34 countries)
* And of course each day Provençal market plus the craft market in July / August from 20:00 to 00:00.

Pictures of Bandol

Baie de Bandol Une plage à Bandol Calanques près de Bandol Autre vue d'une plage de Bandol Bandol, une jolie station balnéaire Vins de Bandol

Around Bandol

Calanques - Marseille - Cassis - La Ciotat - Carqueiranne - Giens - Saint Tropez - Sainte Maxime - Le château d'If - Toulon - Hyères - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages - Porquerolles - Port-Cros - Ile du Levant - Cavalaire - Ramatuelle

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Bandol

Une station balnéaire de renommée internationale

BandolBandol, station balnéaire de renommée internationale, et depuis peu station de Voile se situe entre Toulon et Marseille . Connue comme Capitale du Vin, Bandol est devenue en 1990 Capitale du Nautisme en Méditerranée.

Au large de Bandol, on trouve encore des "dolia", tonneau de terre cuite vieux de vingt à vingt-cinq siècles... Dans l'antiquité déjà, le vin de Bandol s'exportait outre-mer.

Le Port lui même a été crée pour accueillir les bateaux chargés de vins, dans des récipients qui, dès le Moyen-Age, furent marqués d'un "B".

La ville est dotée d'un port de plaisance de 1500 places.

Classée station climatique le 3 juillet 1923, Bandol a su développer un tourisme de qualité, grâce à sa luminosité particulière, son climat tempéré, la sauvegarde des sites naturels. La baie de Bandol est désormais l'un des plus beaux fleurons de la Côte d'Azur.

Rue de BandolBandol, une authentique station balnéaire en méditerranée qui a su puiser dans son passé la richesse de son présent.

Bandol, qui possède un casino, est classé station balnéaire depuis le 3 juillet 1923 et les vins de Bandol sont AOC depuis 1941. Bandol a également un kiosque à musique bâti en 1933 par l'architecte Fleury Linossier. La population est de 7500 habitants en hiver et plus de 12000 en été. La ville de Bandol est jumelée avec la ville de Nettuno en Italie, la ville de Onex en Suisse et la ville de Wehr-Baden en Allemagne.

Petite Histoire de Bandol

Bandol, village riverain de la Méditerranée, entre Marseille et Toulon, disparaît à la fin de l'Antiquité, suite aux invasions barbares. La population fuit dans les villages de l'intérieur, comme La Cadière. Ce n'est qu'au début de l'époque moderne que Bandol réapparaît : le duc d'Epernon, à la fin des Guerres de Religion, y fait construire un fort qu'Henri IV donne en 1596 comme fief à un valeureux militaire, Antoine Boyer. Ce dernier est anobli peu après et ses descendants, la famille de Boyer, crée en 1715 un village avec sept familles pionnières. Grâce aux célèbres vins de Bandol (connus à la table de Louis XV), Bandol se développe fortement et comprend 1 200 habitants en 1789. En 1790, le curé Jean-Baptiste Gardon est élu maire avec 88% des voix (fait unique en Provence). En 1793, s'ouvre à Bandol une section fédéraliste qui soutient la révolte de Toulon. Ses deux responsables, le curé Jonquier et le tonnelier Barthélémy, seront ensuite guillotinés.

A voir à Bandol

* Le sentier du littoral, une très agréable promenade le long de la mer.
* L'île de Bendor : village, jardin zoologique, verrerie d'art, musée de la mer, musée des vins et spiritueux (6000 bouteilles provenant de 34 pays)
* et bien entendu chaque jour le marché provençal auquel s'ajoute le marché des artisans en juillet/août de 20h00 à 00h00.

Photographies de Bandol

Baie de Bandol Une plage à Bandol Calanques près de Bandol Autre vue d'une plage de Bandol Bandol, une jolie station balnéaire Vins de Bandol

Autour de Bandol

Calanques - Marseille - Cassis - La Ciotat - Carqueiranne - Giens - Saint Tropez - Sainte Maxime - Le château d'If - Toulon - Hyères - Sanary sur Mer - Six Fours les Plages - Porquerolles - Port-Cros - Ile du Levant - Cavalaire - Ramatuelle

Autres villes de Provence