Provence
Français / English

Antibes Juan-les-Pins

An exceptional peninsula

Antibes Juan les PinsLocated in the Alpes Maritimes, the town of Antibes Juan-les-Pins is divided into several districts including, to name only the most famous, Antibes itself, the Cap d'Antibes and Juan les Pins. Antibes gave its ancient name, Antipolis, to a major area of activities, Sophia Antipolis, located on the town of Valbonne, where companies are grouped research and development in the field of new technologies.

History

Remparts VaubanAs evidence of its ancient origins, Antibes boasts some magnificent remains of the Roman era. The city is supplied with water by two aqueducts, whose aqueduct Fontvielle which takes its source in Biot and along the coast. A second aqueduct, the aqueduct said the Bouillide or Clausonnes takes its source in the town of Valbonne.

Excavations in the old town of Antibes have also allowed the discovery of structures habitat well preserved and showing a certain luxury. Among them, the most monumental garden are those of the presbytery of the street Clemenceau. It shows a level comparable to that of Gallo-Roman domus.

The modern age has brought Antibes be separated from the department of Var in 1860, to train with the county Nice department of Alpes-Maritimes: this explains why the department of Var is the only department french bearing the name of a course of Water that does not cross. The town of Antibes Juan-les-Pins, is the second largest town in the department by its population.

In 1880, the current location of Juan-les-Pins was "discovered" by the Duke of Albany, son of Queen Victoria. At that time, Juan les Pins was a forest of pine trees lined with sandy beaches idyllic. Juan-les-Pins had its glorious days in the years 1920, when the Americans brought a certain style of life is relaxation, sunbathing on the beach, and ... jazz. The success was immediate. Any European youth in search of fun and the most famous American stars of the day, as Frank Jay Gould, Jelda, Scott Fitzgerald and Douglas Fairbanks, were accustomed to go to Juan-les-Pins. It was the beginning of the roaring twenties. After World War II, the exuberant atmosphere of Juan-les-Pins resumed again, it became the "European New Orleans".

Tourism in Antibes

Phare de la GaroupeYou probably come in Antibes for its beaches, its fabulous overlooking the Mediterranean. Indeed, Antibes is located on a site geographically remarkable as the city benefits from the advancement of a peninsula extending into the Mediterranean Sea. The Cap d'Antibes identifies the peninsula formed by a hill calanquered with pine and maritime dominated a lighthouse, lighthouse Garoupe. The site attracts many personalities from the world of cinema, mainly at the Cannes Film Festival, which raises awareness of places.

Antibes enjoys 25 km of coastline, shared between the cracks, pebble beaches or fine sand. What delight and welcome summer visitors who can enjoy all the usual water sports: water skiing, jet-skiing, windsurfing, parasailing, diving or fishing in any genre. Most important magnet for tourists boating, Antibes boasts five ports, including Port Vauban, which is nothing less than the greatest pleasure port in Europe!

Musée PicassoDo not miss when you stroll to visit the Picasso Museum, which occupies the Grimaldi's Castle in Antibes. In 1946, Pablo Picasso had the opportunity to install its workshops at the castle, then in 1957, he officially received the title of "Honorary Citizen of the town of Antibes." In 1966, Chateau Grimaldi became quite naturally the Picasso Museum, where there are approximately 245 works by the artist.

See also, Fort Square, built under Henry II and improved under Louis XIV by Vauban. It is owned by the City of Antibes since 1997 and opened to the public since 1998. It is classified as an historic monument.

Another point of interest famous : Marineland, a marine park and a dolphinarium founded in 1970 in Antibes, on the Mediterranean coast, on the road to the seafront of the French Riviera.

Jazz Festival

Juan-les-Pins enters the great history of Jazz on July 7, 1960, the date of the inauguration of the "First International Festival of Jazz". This event was created by Jacques Souplet in collaboration with Jacques Hebey. This unprecedented event brought together orchestras from 13 countries come from all corners of Europe in the hope of being designated as the best training Jazz. Given the enormous success of the Festival, the Pinewood Gould continues to host each month of July the most famous musicians, and the most enthusiastic fans!

Sydney BechetSidney Bechet was so impressed by the beauty of the place they are married in 1951, during an absolutely crazy day where orchestras in the streets, celebrities and journalists worldwide mixed and danced. Sidney Bechet played them even for the first time the air "In the streets of Antibes", one of his greatest pieces.

Pictures of Antibes Juan-les-Pins

Fort Carré d'Antibes Le Port Ruelle du vieil Antibes Une villa Plage Antibes Orques au Marineland

Around Antibes Juan-les-Pins

Cannes - Iles de Lérins - Grasse - Nice - Mandelieu - Menton - Côte d'Azur - Saint Raphaël - Fréjus - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Antibes Juan-les-Pins

Une exceptionnelle presqu'île

Antibes Juan les PinsSituée dans les Alpes Maritimes, la commune d'Antibes Juan-les-Pins est divisée en plusieurs quartiers, dont, pour ne citer que les plus connus, Antibes proprement dit, le Cap d'Antibes, et Juan les Pins. Antibes a donné son nom antique, Antipolis, à une importante zone d'activités, Sophia Antipolis, située sur la commune de Valbonne, où sont regroupées des entreprises de recherche et développement dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies.

L'histoire à Antibes

Remparts VaubanComme preuve de ses origines antiques, Antibes arbore quelques magnifiques vestiges de l'époque romaine. La cité est alimentée en eau par deux aqueducs, dont l'aqueduc de Fontvielle qui prend sa source à Biot et longe le littoral. Un deuxième aqueduc, l'aqueduc dit de la Bouillide ou des Clausonnes prend sa source dans la commune de Valbonne.

Des fouilles dans la vieille-ville d'Antibes ont également permis la mise au jour de structures d'habitat bien conservées et montrant un certain luxe. Parmi elles, les plus monumentales sont celles du jardin du presbytère de la rue Clemenceau. Celle-ci montre un plan comparable à celui des domus gallo-romaines.

L'époque moderne amena Antibes a être détachée du département du Var en 1860, pour former avec le comté de Nice le département des Alpes-Maritimes : ceci explique pourquoi le département du Var est le seul département français portant le nom d'un cours d'eau qui ne le traverse pas. La commune d’Antibes Juan-les-Pins, est la deuxième ville du département par sa population.

En 1880, l'actuel emplacement de Juan-les-Pins était "découvert" par le duc d'Albany, fils de la Reine Victoria. A cette époque, Juan les Pins était une forêt de pins bordée de plages de sables idylliques. Juan-les-Pins eut ses jours glorieux dans les années 1920, quand les Américains y apportèrent un certain style de vie fait de décontraction, de bains de soleil à la plage, et... de jazz. Le succès fut immédiat. Toute la jeunesse européenne en recherche d'amusement ainsi que les plus célèbres des vedettes américaines de l'époque, comme Frank Jay Gould, Jelda, Scott Fitzgerald et Douglas Fairbanks, avaient l'habitude d'aller à Juan-les-Pins. C'était le début des années folles. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'atmosphère exubérante de Juan-les-Pins repris à nouveau, elle devint la "Nouvelle Orléans européenne".

Tourisme à Antibes

Phare de la GaroupeVous viendrez probablement à Antibes pour ses plages, son décor fabuleux surplombant la Méditerranée. En effet, Antibes est située sur un site géographique remarquable puisque la ville profite de l'avancée d'une presqu'île pour s'étendre vers la mer Méditerranée. Le Cap d'Antibes désigne cette presqu'île formée d'une colline recouverte de pins maritimes et surplombée d'un phare, le phare de Garoupe. Le site attire de nombreuses personnalités du monde du cinéma, essentiellement lors du festival de Cannes, ce qui accroît la notoriété des lieux.

Antibes bénéficie de 25 kilomètres de côtes, partagées entre criques, plages de galets ou sable fin. De quoi ravir et accueillir les estivants qui peuvent profiter de toutes les activités nautiques habituelles : ski nautique, jet-ski, planche à voile, parachute ascensionnel, plongée ou pêche en tous genre. Point essentiel pour les touristes aimant la navigation de plaisance, Antibes s'enorgueillit de cinq ports, dont le Port Vauban, qui n'est rien moins que le plus grand port de plaisance d'Europe !

Musée PicassoNe manquez pas lors de vos balades de visiter le Musée Picasso, qui occupe le Château Grimaldi d'Antibes. En 1946, Pablo Picasso eut l'opportunité d'installer ses ateliers au château, puis, en 1957, il reçut officiellement le titre de "Citoyen d’honneur de la ville d’Antibes". En 1966, le Château Grimaldi devint tout naturellement le Musée Picasso, où on trouve environ 245 œuvres de l’artiste.

A voir également, le Fort Carré, construit sous Henri II et amélioré sous Louis XIV par Vauban. Il est propriété de la Ville d'Antibes depuis 1997 et ouvert au public depuis 1998. Il est classé au titre des monuments historiques.

Autre point d'intérêt célèbre : le Marineland, un parc d'attraction marin et un delphinarium fondé en 1970 à Antibes, au bord de la Méditerranée, sur la route du bord de mer de la Côte d'Azur.

Festival de Jazz

Juan-les-Pins entre dans la grande histoire du Jazz le 7 Juillet 1960, date de l'inauguration du "Premier Festival Européen du Jazz". Cet événement fut créé par Jacques Souplet en collaboration avec Jacques Hebey. Cette manifestation sans précédent rassembla les orchestres de 13 pays venu des quatre coins de l'Europe dans l'espoir d'être désigné comme la meilleur formation de Jazz européenne. Devant l'énorme succès du Festival, la Pinède Gould continue d'accueillir chaque mois de juillet les musiciens plus plus réputés, et les amateurs les plus enthousiastes !

Sydney BechetSidney Bechet fût si impressionné par la beauté de l'endroit qu'il s'y maria en 1951, pendant un jour complètement fou où orchestres dans la rue, vedettes et journalistes du monde entier se mêlaient et dansaient. Sidney Bechet y joua même pour la première fois l'air "Dans les rues d'Antibes", l'un de ses plus grands morceaux.

Photographies de Antibes Juan-les-Pins

Fort Carré d'Antibes Le Port Ruelle du vieil Antibes Une villa Plage Antibes Orques au Marineland

Autour de Antibes Juan-les-Pins

Cannes - Iles de Lérins - Grasse - Nice - Mandelieu - Menton - Côte d'Azur - Saint Raphaël - Fréjus - Roquebrune-Cap-Martin - Beausoleil - Monaco - Beaulieu sur Mer - Saint Jean Cap Ferrat - Villefranche sur Mer - Vallauris Golfe-Juan - Vence - Saint Paul de Vence - Cagnes sur Mer

Autres villes de Provence